Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Society & Culture
  3. Ethnic Cultures

Kwanzaa series begin

See also

Kwanzaa began today.

It's a 7 day event that is supposed to bring the black community together and remind us of basic principles that we should incorporate into our daily lives.

The seven principles :

Day 1 : Umoja (Unity)

Day 2 : Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)

Day 3 : Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility)

Day 4 : Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics)

Day 5 : Nia (Purpose)

Day 6 : Kuumba (Creativity)

Day 7 : Imani (Faith)

In the next few days certain aspects of this week long celebration will be explained.

Certain unknown facts will be exposed. The principles will examined. The history will be broken down of the black diaspora, the creation of Kwanzaa and an image of the black community will be painted. A black community that takes these principle seriously.

After this is done. There will be a return back to the "Black modern living series" starting January of 2014.

Extra info.



  • Tom Petty
    Seven overlooked videos that prove the genius of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
    Today's Buzz
  • Gaylord Pickens
    Discover Gaylord-Pickens Oklahoma Heritage Museum dollar days
    6 Photos
  • Yoga poses
    Learn how to strengthen your core muscles with these yoga poses
    5 Photos
  • Baby boomer STD rates
    Sexually transmitted diseases: Baby boomers booming STD rates
    7 Photos
  • Open relationships
    Are you thinking about exercising your option to be in an open relationship?
    5 Photos
  • Medical symptoms
    See which symptoms should cause you to seek a doctor’s attention right away
    6 Photos