Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Health & Fitness
  3. Yoga & Pilates

Kundalini meditation/yoga 1– the symbolic serpent conveys the dormant potential

See also

Kundalini – a Sanskrit word has multiple meanings but the most common is the symbolic serpent coiled three and a half rounds at the base of spine. It is sleeping or potential power present in every human being, when awakened brings the realization of the highest consciousness and end the sufferings. How energy can be coiled like a serpent is a question we generally never ask and move into mysticism that does more harm than the good. In this series, we will explore the authentic tantra tradition, its masters, and practices for clear and deeper understanding.

The only symbolic meaning can be derived from Kundalini being a serpent is ‘unconscious state’ as when the snake sleeps, it generally coils herself. In literatures, another meaning is ‘pit’ or a ‘bowel like skull’. It conveys that every human being has dormant potential when awakened, can bring about a change in consciousness leading to realization. The symbolic expression – ‘three and half times coiled’ represents waking, dream, sleep and fourth or transitional state of consciousness.

There is entire anatomy and physiology of tantra, different than the modern science that needs to be understood before, one can venture into the path. There are more than 100 ways of awakening the Kundalini, from 64 paths of tantra. It is quite amazing to read the anatomy and physiology of tantra –yoga that helps one to understand the path of Kundalini. There are five layers of body or three bodies namely –gross, subtle, causal veils this consciousness force. There are 72864 energy pathways, 10 principal Prana or energy, 7-9 Chakra or different states of consciousness, more than 1000 mantra’s and Yantra ( geometrical figures represents deeper states of mind/consciousness. Further there are practices includes special mudras, hand gestures, band has (locks that prevents the dissipation of energy), Nyasa (tantra practice), Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, meditation and other practices. In addition, masters lays great stress on ethical, moral disciplines, hygiene and cleanliness. There are many hindrances and helpers at physical, mental and emotional levels, should be taken care of, before one decides to tread the path. The great Himalayan master used to guide that if one follows 16-essentials for Kundalini awakening, one can remove all dangers on the path.

In this series, traditional path of Kundalini will be explored step by step and simple, easy practices will be explained to manage anxiety, anger, stress and illnesses. Kundalini yoga/meditation has been customized by the ancient masters as explained in various texts, indicates that one should practice under the supervision of a master until one awakens to the inner consciousness.



  • Transgender cop
    A transgender police officer is stepping down from her position to run for office
    Political Office
  • Easter eggs
    Craft delicate, hand-painted eggs with flowers and other designs celebrating spring
    Easter Eggs
  • Subway message
    Subway customer finds 'Big Mama' written on her order
    Subway Message
  • Working from home
    Working from home can be an exciting venture. Get tips to ensure productivity
    Get Tips
  • Limes
    Rising cost of limes could be putting the squeeze on your favorite restaurant
    Expensive Limes
  • Pope Francis
    Religion: Pope Francis instructs how to fight against Satan
    Morning Mass

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!