Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Krueger wins Edgar Award for best mystery novel

Edgar Award and 2013 best novel winner
Edgar Award and 2013 best novel winner
William Kent Krueger

"I can’t adequately convey how happy I am that this story so special to me has been recognized in this way," said William Kent Krueger on Twitter about his book "Ordinary Grace," (Simon & Schuster – Atria Books) which won him the Edgar Alan Poe Award Thursday night for the best novel of 2013. The awards were announced at the Mystery Writers of America's gala banquet in New York.

Krueger is already thinking about a new title with the same setting. Tentatively titled “This Tender Land,” it is set in southern Minnesota, as is “Ordinary Grace,” he said on his website.

Other 2014 Edgar Awards:

  • Best first novel by an American author: “Red Sparrow” by Jason Matthews (Simon & Schuster - Scribner)
  • Best paperback original: “The Wicked Girls” by Alex Marwood (Penguin Group USA - Penguin Books)
  • Best fact crime: “The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War” by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur Books)
  • Best critical/biographical: “America is Elsewhere: The Noir Tradition in the Age of Consumer Culture” by Erik Dussere (Oxford University Press).
  • Best short story: "The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository” –“Bibliomysteries” by John Connolly (Mysterious Bookshop)
  • Best juvenile: "One Came Home” by Amy Timberlake (Random House Children’s Books – Alfred A. Knopf BFYR)
  • Best young adult: “Ketchup Clouds” by Annabel Pitcher (Hachette Book Group – Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)
  • Best television episode teleplay: “Episode 1” – The Fall, Teleplay by Allan Cubitt (Netflix)
  • Robert L. Fish Memorial Award: "The Wentworth Letter" – Criminal Element’s Malfeasance Occasional By Jeff Soloway (St. Martin’s Press)

Robert Crais and Carolyn Hart were named Grand Masters by the Mystery Writers Association, while its Raven Award went to Aunt Agatha’s Bookstore in Ann Arbor, Mich. At an earlier ceremony, The Simon & Schuster - Mary Higgins Clark Award went to “Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman (Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine Books)

The Mystery Writers Association includes writers of books, short stories, plays, and screenplays; publishers, editors, agents, librarians, booksellers, and other in allied fields as well as aspiring writers and others devoted to crime writing.

Report this ad