Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Koe wins 2014 Tim Horton's Brier

See also

According to the Canadian Press on Sunday, team Alberta has won the 2014 Tim Horton's Brier in Kamloops, British Columbia.

Alberta, led by skip Kevin Koe out of the Glencoe Club in Calgary, defeated British Columbia 10-5 in the championship final.

The turning point in the gold medal game came in the second end. Team Alberta second Carter Rycroft made a fantastic triple takeout, which helped Alberta score three points to take a 3-2 lead. Koe went on to score three more points in the fifth end and seventh end.

The other reasons for the Alberta victory were three significant mistakes by British Columbia. Skip John Morris and fourth Jim Cotter both were heavy in throwing their stones at key times in the early going that allowed Alberta to take a commanding 6-3 lead at the fifth end break.

For Koe, it was his second Tim Horton's Brier of his career. He previously beat Ontario's Glenn Howard 6-5 in the championship final of the 2010 Tim Horton's Brier in Halifax.

The only significant change between Koe's winning teams in 2010 compared to 2014, came at the third position where Pat Simmons replaced the retired Blake MacDonald.

Koe's team will now represent team Canada at the 2014 World Men's Curling Championship in Beijing, China that starts March 29 and at the 2015 Tim Horton's Brier in Calgary.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court