Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Klinsmann selects roster to prep for Korea Republic friendly

SKC teammates Benny Feilhaber and Graham Zusi
Ed Zurga/Getty

Jan. 24, U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann finalized a 22-player roster for the last part of the January camp at the National Training Center in Carson, Calif. to prepare for the friendly versus Korea Republic on Feb. 1 at StubHub Center.

Five players were released from the 26-man roster that began training on Jan. 7. Colorado Rapids defenders Chris Klute and Shane O’Neill, Sporting Kansas City defenders Chance Myers and Seth Sinovic, and Houston Dynamo goalkeeper Tally Hall will return to their clubs. Columbus Crew defender Michael Parkhurst was added to the training camp roster.

“We had a great opportunity to introduce some new players into the Senior National Team Program and they have done extremely well," said Klinsmann. "I think they have a bright future, and now they go back to their clubs with a better understanding of what it takes at the international level.”

The team spent the last 12 days in Sao Paulo, Brazil, for a dry run for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. Sao Paulo will be the site of the team’s base camp this summer.

Watch the video of the Sao Paulo FC's amazing training facility, the USMNT's base for 2014 World Cup Brazil.

Nearly 22,000 tickets have been sold for the Korea Republic match, the USA’s first game in 2014, which is one of only two games currently scheduled before the naming of the World Cup roster in May. The kick-off for the Korea Republic match is set for 2 p.m. PT and will be broadcast on ESPN2, WatchESPN and UniMas.

The USA drew the formidable Group of Death at World Cup and will face Ghana on June 16, Portugal on June 22 and Germany on June 26.

GOALKEEPERS (3) : Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (7) : Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Harrington (Portland Timbers), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (8) : Eric Alexander (New York Red Bulls), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4 ): Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Mike Magee (Chicago Fire), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Report this ad