Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. TV

Kim Spradlin, Cochran, Jonny Fairplay, inducted into the 'Survivor' Hall of Fame

See also

The fans have spoken, the ballots of the executive voting committee have been cast and the results are now official. Today, the final of the three new inductees into the XFinity TV "Survivor Hall of Fame" was announced. Please welcome the three newest Hall of Famers: Kimberly Spradlin, John Cochran and Jon "Jonny Fairplay" Dalton.

"Survivor" fans from everywhere voted online and the fan vote made up 50% of the final tally. The other 50% came from the Executive Voting Committee, made up of the Hall of Fame creator, XFinity TV's "Survivor" guru Gordon Holmes, producers from the show (Executive Producer Jeff Probst, Challenge Producer Jeff Kirhoffer, Co-Executive Producer Matt Van Wagenen and Producer Jesse Jensen), current members of the Survivor Hall of Fame and members of the "Survivor" press corps (Dalton Ross of Entertainment Weekly, Mara Reinstein of US Weekly, Drusilla Moorhouse of and yours truly, Tom Santilli of

Kim Spradlin is the winner of "Survivor: One World," a win that many consider to be one of the most dominant in the show's history. Kim becomes the very first Survivor Hall of Famer to have only played the game once (all other inductees have played the game at least twice). She received the most fan votes this year and based on the Executive Votes made public, she received six total votes.

Kim's six votes tied her for second, with John Cochran receiving the most Executive Votes (made public). John Cochran has played the game twice - "Survivor: South Pacific" and then "Survivor: Caramoan" - winning convincingly his second time out. He was/is a Survivor super-fan and his win was only the second "perfect game" ever played (defined as a Sole Survivor who never received a vote against them and then won the final vote unanimously...J.T. Thomas of "Survivor: Tocantins" was the only other perfect game player, adding a Fan Favorite Award on top of his in-game accomplishments).

Last but certainly not least, Jonny Fairplay was inducted. From Executive votes made public, he received five total votes, which was fourth overall. Fairplay's status as a "Survivor Icon" cannot be denied, as he remains one of the show's most memorable villains and players ever. He has played twice, "Survivor: Pearl Islands" and "Survivor: Micronesia" with his second time out being less than memorable (three days into the game, he admitted his heart wasn't in the game, wanting to be home with his girlfriend who was pregnant. He asked his tribe to vote him out - some, even Jeff Probst, called this a quit - but either way it was a controversial end to his Survivor legacy at the time). His "dead grandma" lie though, during Pearl Islands, broke the barrier of pop culture even outside the realm of Survivor fans and pushed the envelope with how far players were willing to go to achieve the million bucks. Because of his second time out, it is sometimes lost how good of a strategic player he was during Pearl Islands, nearly riding the grandma lie to the very end of the game.

With these three now inducted, the Survivor Hall of Fame now includes a total of 14 players. They are as follows:

First Ballot - Class of 2010

  • Richard Hatch
  • "Boston Rob" Mariano
  • Russell Hantz
  • Parvati Shallow
  • Sandra Diaz-Twine

Second Ballot - Class of 2011

  • Cirie Fields
  • Ozzy Lusth
  • Tom Westman

Third Ballot - Class of 2012

  • Amanda Kimmel
  • Rob Cesternino
  • Ethan Zohn

Fourth Ballot - Class of 2013

  • Kim Spradlin
  • John Cochran
  • Jonny Fairplay

Wondering who else received Executive Voting Committee votes? Ben "Coach" Wade received the most (six) without being inducted. He was followed by Rudy Boesch and Stephanie LaGrossa, each with four, "Survivor: Thailand" winner Brian Heidik with three and then Malcolm Freberg and Jerri Manthey with two votes a piece. Receiving one vote were Sue Hawk, Lisa Welchel, J.T. Thomas, Kenward "Boo" Bernis, Amber Mariano, Eliza Orlins, James Clement and Todd Herzog.

Here was my ballot for 2013, along with the other press corp members.

So what do you think of this year's Hall of Fame class? Post your comments below!

You can follow me on Twitter, @tomsantilli.


Today's top buzz...

  • Eminem
    The jam-packed Austin City Limits festival lineup has been announced
    Festivals Buzz
  • A.J. Green
    The Cincinnati Bengals kept A.J. Green happy with an extension through 2015
    NFL News
  • Blake Shelton
    Performers announced for Clear Channel's first iHeartRadio Music Awards
    Music News
  • NBA Cheerleaders
    These NBA dancers are guaranteed to take some attention away from the playoff action
    NBA Buzz
  • Kristen Wiig
    Exclusive: Kristen Wiig talks 'Secret Life of Walter Mitty,' new on Blu-ray, DVD
    Movies Buzz
  • Buffalo Bills
    The Buffalo Bills have reached a settlement agreement in a text messaging lawsuit

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!