Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Kenseth, Hamlin win Budwesier Duels with Thrilling Finishes

See also

Joe Gibbs Racing is looking impressive during Budweiser Speedweeks. How impressive is Joe Gibbs Racing during Budweiser Speedweeks? They are officially undefeated heading toward Sunday's Daytona 500. Matt Kenseth and Denny Hamlin would sweep the Budweiser Duels for Joe Gibbs Racing with Kenseth winning the first while Hamlin would win the second duel. Denny Hamlin also won the Sprint Unlimited on Saturday which puts Joe Gibbs Racing undefeated during Budwesier Speedweeks.

Matt Kenseth would hold onto victory by a slim margin of .022 seconds following a last-lap pass attempt from Kevin Harvick. This victory is Matt's second win in three years in the qualifying races with his last victory coming in 2012. Oh, he also won the 2012 Daytona 500 following his Duel Victory.

Denny Hamlin would hold off Kurt Busch and Jeff Gordon while a massive crash behind him would include Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson, Martin Truex Jr., Michael Waltrip, Clint Bowyer, Jamie McMurray, David Ragan and others on the final lap. Matt Kenseth will start third on Sunday with Denny Hamlin on his outside in fourth.

Five drivers would fail to make the Daytona 500 including No. 35 Eric McClure, No. 83 Ryan Truex, No. 87 Joe Nemechek, No. 93 Morgan Shepherd, and No. 95 Michael McDowell.



  • Lance Armstrong steps back into the spotlight with a new instructional video
    Watch Video
  • The Penguins and Canadiens take early series leads in the Stanley Cup Playoffs
  • It only took 14 innings, but the Red Sox emerge victorious over Chicago 6-4
  • Chris Johnson finally finds a home, signing a 2-year deal with the Jets
  • Falcons owner Arthur Blank will bring an MLS franchise to Atlanta in 2017
  • The NBA Playoffs are set, find out which team has the best odds to win it all

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!