Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Careers & Workplace
  3. Jobs

KC Chamber ATHENA Leadership Award nominations due by June 27

See also

This October, the KC Chamber will once again honor two women with the prestigious ATHENA Award for community service, achievement, and leadership. Nominations for both the ATHENA Leadership Award and the ATHENA Young Professionals Leadership Award are due by June 27. To nominate a candidate, visit the KC Chamber website,

A selection committee, made up of a diverse group of community leaders, will review all nominations and select one ATHENA Award recipient and one Young Professional ATHENA leadership Award recipient. The recipients and nominees will be honored at the Kansas City ATHENA Awards Reception October 15 at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts.

“For 14 years, the KC Chamber has been honoring exceptional women leaders with the hope of inspiring others to achieve excellence in their personal and professional lives,” says Jim Heeter, President & CEO of the KC Chamber. “In 2010, we added the award for young professionals as a way to highlight Kansas City’s emerging leaders. Our list of award winners speaks for itself.”

The ATHENA Leadership Award is given to someone “who has achieved the highest level of professional excellence, devoted time and energy to the community, and, especially, opened the doors of leadership opportunity to women,” added Heeter.

The ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award is presented to emerging women leaders who “demonstrate excellence in their business or profession; provide valuable service to their community; and serve as a role model for young women both personally and professionally,” explained Heeter.

Instituted by the KC Chamber in 2010, past recipients of the Young Professionals Award include:

  • 2013- Dr. Susan Leonard
  • 2012 – Katie Dunn Fitzgerald
  • 2011 – Mary Bosco Heinrich
  • 2010 - Marie Ferrell

Past ATHENA Leadership Award winners include:

  • 2013 – SuEllen Fried
  • 2012 – Janice Kreamer
  • 2011 – Mary Kay McPhee
  • 2010 – Adele Hall
  • 2009 – Mamie Hughes
  • 2008 – Susan Stanton
  • 2007 – Karen Pletz
  • 2006 – Then- Governor Kathleen Sebelius
  • 2005 – Roshann Parris
  • 2004 – Leawood Mayor Peggy Dunn
  • 2003 – Julia Irene Kauffman
  • 2002 – Anita Gorman
  • 2001 – Beth Smith

Presenting Sponsors of the 2014 ATHENA Awards include KPMG , Bank Midwest , and Burns & McDonnell.



  • Dan Savage
    Dan Savage cares about LGBT youth, bullying and saving lives
    Today's Buzz
  • Raku
    Teachers and students can use this summer to learn a new skill
    15 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    10 Photos
  • Greek wine
    Unwind with these delicious wines: The thrilling wines of Greece
    7 Photos
  • Mandy Moore
    Exclusive interview with Celebrity Mandy Moore concerning animal activism
    5 Photos
  • Educational family vacations
    Find out how to take an educational family vacation that doesn't break the bank
    9 Photos