Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

Karla Gilbert of Texas A&M nominated for WBCA Allstate Good Works Team

See also

On Tues. Dec. 3, 2013, Texas A&M Athletics announced that Texas A&M Senior Karla Gilbert was one of 52 Division I nominees for the 2014 Allstate WBCA Good Works Teams®. The College Station senior is truly an excellent candidate for the Allstate nod, as the award recognizes a select group of college basketball student-athletes “who have made significant contributions to the greater good of their communities through volunteerism and civic service.”

This award was established in 2012 because Allstate, a longtime supporter of college athletics wanted the spotlight to fall on “players at all levels of college basketball who represent the sport’s finest in the areas of leadership and charitable achievements amongst their peers.”

If anyone knows about unselfish team play and giving back, unquestionably Karla is the first player on this year’s Aggie team who comes to mind. Sometimes it’s hard to play the stalwart backup role, and last year, Gilbert did just that, supporting the play of Kelsey Bone throughout the SEC tournament and playing some of her best basketball ever.

At the SEC tournament last spring, Kelsey Bone was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament. In typical Kelsey fashion, though, she immediately told radio and tv announcers that she was presenting the award to teammate Karla Gilbert, which she did. That’s the true spirit of teamwork and sportsmanship that Bone and Gilbert shared last year and for which Gilbert is rightfully being considered this year.

From the 53 WBCA nominees submitted by coaches and sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, special voting panels will select a team comprised of five student-athletes from the NCAA Division I level.

Aggie Athletics notes “Gilbert is a team captain for the Aggies, and on the court has averaged 10.5 points and 8.5 rebounds this season. Along with her teammates, she has mentored students from Bryan ISD in her spare time, which she does not have much of, since the special education major is also student teaching this semester.”

The full list of nominees includes:

College of The Holy Cross – Alex Smith
East Carolina University – Ariana Jackson
Florida Gulf Coast University – Sarah Hansen
Florida State University – Natasha Howard
Fordham University – Abigail Corning
Furman University – Brigid Morrissey
Georgia Institute of Technology – Shayla Bivins
Harvard University – Kaitlyn Dinkins
Iowa State University – Hallie Christofferson
Kansas State University – Chantay Caron
Louisiana State University – Theresa Plaisance
McNeese State University – NeTanya Jones
Middle Tennessee State University – Janiece Johnson
Montana State University-Bozeman – Jackie Elliott
Norfolk State University – Jazamine Gray
North Carolina A&T State University – Tracy King
Northwestern University – Meghan McKeown
Purdue University – Courtney Moses
Rice University – Nakachi Maduka
Seattle University – Kacie Sowell
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale – Jordyn Courier
Stanford University – Chiney Ogwumike
Stephen F. Austin State University – Daylyn Harris
Texas A&M University – Karla Gilbert
University of Akron – Rachel Tecca
University of Alabama – Nikki Hegstetter
University of California-Berkeley – Avigiel Cohen
University of Delaware – Kelsey Buchanan
University of Denver – Theresa Wirth
University of Hartford – Alyssa Englert
University of Hawaii – Kamilah Jackson
University of Illinois – Sarah Hartwell
University of Iowa – Kathryn Reynolds
University of Kentucky – Kastine Evans
University of Louisville – Jude Schimmel
University of Maine – Elizabeth Wood
University of Massachusetts – Jasmine Harris
University of Miami – Maria Brown
University of Missouri-Kansas City – Eilise O’Connor
University of New Hampshire – Kelsey Hogan
University of New Mexico – Sara Halasz
University of North Dakota – Allyssa Wall
University of South Carolina – Elem Ibiam
University of Southern California – Cassie Harberts
University of Southern Mississippi – Niesha Pierce
University of Tennessee at Martin – Heather Butler
University of Virginia – Lexie Gerson
University of Wisconsin – Morgan Paige
West Virginia University – Jessica Harlee
Western Kentucky University – Chaney Means
Winthrop University – Taylor Calvert
Youngstown State University – Heidi Schlegel

Stay tuned to find out how the award process turns out. As for Gilbert, at the time of this writing, she had already scored 9 points with 3 of 4 field goals, 3 of 5 free throws, and snagged 8 rebounds in just the first half of the game vs. the San Diego State Aztecs. After the second half of play, Gilbert's stats were achieving her second double-double of the season and finishing the game with 16 points and 11 rebounds.



  • Lance Armstrong steps back into the spotlight with a new instructional video
    Watch Video
  • The Penguins and Canadiens take early series leads in the Stanley Cup Playoffs
  • It only took 14 innings, but the Red Sox emerge victorious over Chicago 6-4
  • Chris Johnson finally finds a home, signing a 2-year deal with the Jets
  • Falcons owner Arthur Blank will bring an MLS franchise to Atlanta in 2017
  • The NBA Playoffs are set, find out which team has the best odds to win it all

Related Videos:

  • Stanford's Ogwumike makes history by being No. 1 overall pick in WNBA draft
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Harris
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518174180" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Aaron Harrison's game-winner sends Kentucky to national title game.
    <div class="video-info" data-id="517745577" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!