Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Karen O releases new video for her single 'Rapt'

Later this year, Yeah Yeah Yeahs front woman Karen O will release her debut solo album Crush Songs via Julian Casablancas' label Cult. Recently, fans got their first look at the somber video for her beautifully melancholy single “Rapt,” which debuted on YouTube and Pitchfork earlier today.

The video is directed by Karen's husband Barney Clay who previously worked with TV on the Radio for the segment “You” from their 2012 project Nine Types of Light. Production designer K.K. Barrett, who was nominated for an Oscar for Best Production Design for Her, also added his artistic vision to the “Rapt” video which features Karen, dressed in red, floating beneath the surface of cool, turquoise water.

“When I was 27 I crushed a lot,” says Karen of the new record in a statement. “I wasn’t sure I’d ever fall in love again. These songs were written and recorded in private around this time. They are the soundtrack to what was an ever continuing love crusade. I hope they keep you company on yours.”

“Rapt” is simple and sweet in the same vein as Karen's Oscar nominated song “The Moon Song.” It evokes the emotion of someone who has been wounded by love, but is willing to pick up the pieces and try again for someone who is truly special.

Crush Songs will be available for pre-order on iTunes beginning July 29 with “Rapt” being offered as a free download with preorder. The full album will be released on standard vinyl, CD and digitally on September 9, 2014.

Crush Songs Track List

1. Ooo
2. Rapt
3. Visits
4. Beast
5. Comes the Night
6. NYC Baby
7. Other Side
8. So Far
9. Day Go By
10. Body
11. King
12. Indian Summer
13. Sunset Sun
14. Native Korean Rock
15. Singalong

Report this ad