Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Karen O announces debut solo album 'Crush Songs'

See also

On June 25 it was announced in an issued press release that the Yeah Yeah Yeahs lead vocalist Karen O will be releasing her debut solo album, "Crush Songs" on Sept. 9. Karen O recently signed with Cult Records, and the album will be released via Kobalt Label Services. "Crush Songs" will be released digitally, in standard vinyl, on a limited edition vinyl, and on CD.

More Photos

In the issued press release Karen O said about her upcoming album, "When I was 27 I crushed a lot. I wasn't sure I'd ever fall in love again. These songs were written and recorded in private around this time. They are the soundtrack to what was an ever continuing love crusade. I hope they keep you company on yours."

Cult Records was founded by The Strokes lead vocalist Julian Casablancas. In the same press release he said, "So excited, lucky and proud to be involved with such a classic album. I just wanna listen to it all day. Karen is an all-time great."

Fans can currently pre-order the limited edition "Crush Songs" deluxe vinyl. In the special pre-order package fans will get a signed vinyl, 15 cards of personal drawings, handwritten lyrics, and a digital download card for the album. No tracklisting for the album has been released.

Karen O's band the Yeah Yeah Yeahs formed in 2010, and since then they released three extended plays, and four studio albums with the most recent being "Mosquito" in 2013. Thus far the band has been nominated for three Grammy Awards.

In 2014 Karen O was nominated for an Academy Award in the Best Original Song category for her track, "The Moon Song" which was featured on the "Her" soundtrack. Let us know what you think about Karen O releasing a solo album by commenting on our Facebook page.


Today's top buzz...

  • Backstreet Boys
    The Backstreet Boys have canceled several upcoming Israel shows, citing safety concerns
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    The NFL is considering adding a stadium to Los Angeles, but is it a good idea?
    NFL Buzz
  • Hulk Hogan
    Hulk Hogan and Steve Austin are on board for this year's WWE SummerSlam
    WWE News
  • Paul McCartney
    Get an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck for a recent performance
    20 Photos
  • Oscar contenders
    Oscar season is about to begin as fall festivals announce films
    9 Photos
  • Sammy Hagar
    Sammy Hagar is taking fans on a raucous history of rock on the road
    20 Photos