Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Juniors complete HTA Fall Festival tournament despite heavy rains

Girls 16s winner Samantha Ortiz, left, and finalist Caitlin Koch
Girls 16s winner Samantha Ortiz, left, and finalist Caitlin Koch
Terry St. John

The junior version of the Houston Tennis Association Fall Festival tournament was completed October 27 at Lee LeClear Tennis Center despite a half-day rain delay on Sunday. Competitors played in super championship, championship and regular divisions.

Drew Chamberlain of Humble, upset top seed Clark Rivers of Tomball 6-3, 6-4 in the boys super championship 18 singles finals. Houstonians Carlos Velasco was first in the boys championship 18s round-robin singles, and Michael Bell was second. Kendall Whitbeck of Nacogdoches was first in the boys 18 singles, and Stephen DeBlasio of Livingston was second.

In the girls 18 singles Kaylin Kruseman of Houston was first, and Valeria Tobey of The Woodlands was second.

Top seed Paulina Jastrzebska of Gdansk, Poland, defeated Francesca Canjar of Houston 6-2, 7-5 to win the girls 16s super championship finals.

Results in all divisions follow:

Boys singles finals

Super championship

18s—Drew Chamberlain def. Clark Rivers (1), 6-3, 6-4.

14s—Kenner Taylor (1) def. Anish Sriniketh (2), 7-6 (1), 6-3.

12s—Oliver Wright (1) def. Alexander Keifer (2), 7-5, 6-3.


18s—1. Carlos Velasco, 2. Michael Bell.

16s—Edward Wen (2) def. Matthew McMillian 6-4, 4-6, 1-0.

14s—Graham Taylor def. Alex Wen (1), 5-7, 6-4, 1-0.

12s—Kevin Ho (2) def. Trenton Bui 6-3, 6-3.

Regular division

18s—1. Kendall Whitbeck, Nacogdoches, 2. Stephen DeBlasio, Livingston.

16s—Landon Schultz-Zwahr, Needville, def. Konnor Snook (2), 2-6, 6-4, 1-0.

14s—Jun Yi (3) def. Quentin Morris 7-5, 6-3.

12s—Juan Guardia, Pharr, def. Ibrahim Semary 4-6, 6-4, 1-0.

10s—Brian Ho def. Justin Hung 6-0, 6-0.

Girls singles finals

Super championship

16s—Paulina Jastrzebska (1), Gdansk, Poland, def. Francesca Canjar 6-2, 7-5.

14s—Lucia Garcia def. Nicole Barron (1), 6-3, 6-4.


16s—Cecile Wilde (1) def. Tamara Shan (2), 6-2, 6-3.

14s—Sara Loyo def. Arin Yost, Hockley, 6-4, 6-2.

12s—Drew Morris def. Andrea Le 6-2, 6-2.

Regular division

18s—1. Kaylin Kruseman, 2. Valeria Tobey.

16s—Samantha Ortiz (2) def. Caitlin Koch 6-2, 6-2.

14s—Clayton Crosswell def. Anika Yzaguirre (1), 6-3, 6-3.

12s—Kendall Krell def. Sydney Hong 6-3, 6-4.

10s (green ball)—Paulina Loretz def. Valentina Loretz 4-1, 4-3.

10s (orange ball)—Victoria Zhao def. Sophia Rogers 6-4, 4-1.

Report this ad