Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

John Cena wins WWE title at Money In The Bank

World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) held its annual Money In The Bank pay per view last night. This year not only was a shot at the WWE world heavyweight championship on the line, but the actually WWE title itself. The neck injury to Daniel Bryan forced him to relinquish the championship and “the authority” Triple H and Stephanie McMahon announced a new champion would be crowned in the main event of Money in the Bank. The start studded main even included: John Cena, Randy Orton, Alberto Del Rio, Kane, Bray Wyatt, Shemaus, Cesaro and Roman Reigns.

After the battle was done, John Cena climbed the top of the ladder and became the 13 time WWE champion. Cena has not held championship gold since he lost his title to Randy Orton in December 2013, to merge the WWE championship and the world heavyweight championship. The win for Cena sets him on a likely road to face Brock Lesnar at this year’s Summerslam. Lesnar has not been seen on WWE tv since he snapped the Undertaker’s undefeated streak at Wrestlemania 30.

The other big winner at the Money in the Bank pay per view was Seth Rollins. He won a ladder match to secure the briefcase that held a future WWE title shot. The briefcase can be cashed in at any time for a title shot in the next 365 days. Rollins who was assisted in the victory by Kane defeated other WWE superstars such as: Kofi Kingston, Dolph Zigger, Rob Van Dam, Jack Swagger, and former Shield member Dean Ambrose. Also at the pay per view, a couple of champions retained their titles with victories. The Usos are still the WWE tag team champions after a victory over Rowan & Harper of the Wyatt Family. Paige retained the WWE Divas’ championship after her victory over Naomi. WWE returns to pay per view next month with Battleground, which can be seen on the WWE Network.

Report this ad