Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Joey Logano wins the IRWIN Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway

See also

Joey Logano, driving the #22 Shell Pennzoil Ford, joins the 3 wins club after winning the 54th IRWIN Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway. This is Logano’s 3rd victory of the season and his first win at Bristol in 12 races.

More Photos

Logano has six career victories in 207 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races. And this is the first time Ford has swept all three races in a weekend since August 2006 at Bristol. Logano led for 4 times for 76 of the scheduled 500 laps at the 0.533 mile concrete track. Logano joins his Penske teammate Brad Keselowski, and the Hendrick Motorsports drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon, and Jimmie Johnson with 3 victories each for the 2014 season.

“Yeah, Bristol!” screamed an excited Logano on his radio. “Oh my God that was awesome! Good work.”

“Probably the coolest win of all time, winning at Bristol,” Logano said in victory lane. “I’ve never won more than one race in a season before; now I’ve won three….This is one of the three biggest races of the year, (the Bristol Night Race) so to see my name on the trophy is really cool.”

Logano battled his Penske Racing teammate for the win as Keselowski dove low after getting a run on Logano but the #2 Miller Lite Ford couldn’t stick it to the track, letting the #22 Shell Pennzoil with Logano at the helm gain the victory.

Keselowski followed close behind only 0.390 seconds to finish second, Matt Kenseth, after opting to stay out and try to keep the lead on old tires, finished in third.

“I just knew that clean air was going to be worth more than new tires. Man, I wanted to win that thing in the worst way but I just couldn’t hold on,” Kenseth said, after having led the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with seven victories for the 2013 season.

Jimmie Johnson finished in fourth, with Kurt Busch finishing in fifth. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Carl Edwards, Jamie McMurray, Paul Menard and Greg Biffle finished 6th through 10th respectively. Kyle Larson was the highest finishing rookie in 12th.

Jeff Gordon remains the series points leader by 27 points over Dale Earnhardt Jr., growing his lead by 24 points after Earnhardt Jr. finished in 39th after being involved in an incident with Denny Hamlin on Lap 161.

The next race will be the Oral-B USA 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway on Sunday, August 31 with coverage on ESPN beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET. Qualifying for the event will be Friday, August 29, at 7 p.m. ET with coverage on Fox Sports 1.