Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Jeff Probst and 'Survivor' once again snubbed by the Primetime Emmy Awards

Jeff Probst.
Photo courtesy of Monty Brinton/CBS ©2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. Used with permission.

Ugh. It looks like the Primetime Emmy Awards have left their proverbial heads up their proverbial you-know-whats for the third straight year. The Primetime Emmy Award nominations for 2013-2014 were announced this morning and once again both "Survivor" and host Jeff Probst were not nominated.

Beginning with the 2007-2008 TV season, you may remember that a few new categories were created to embrace the growing amount of Reality TV shows that were flooding the airwaves. Jeff Probst was named the winner in the "Outstanding Host for a Reality-Competition Program" the first year that the category existed and he went on to win it four consecutive years.

Then a travesty occurred in 2011-2012. The usual suspects in the category were all there: Cat Deeley (So You Think You Can Dance), Phil Keoghan (The Amazing Race), Tom Bergeron (Dancing with the Stars) and Ryan Seacrest (American Idol). But rounding out the category that year? Betty White, for Betty White's Off Their Rockers, taking the place of Jeff Probst. Yes, everybody's favorite old lady, who reads scripted transitions between her show's segments, earned a nomination over the four-time winner in the category.

Even last year, when the category was expanded to include six nominations instead of the usual five, Jeff Probst found himself off the list. Betty White was once again nominated, with The Taste's Anthony Bourdain joining the group (which by the way is funny in and of itself, because anybody who watches The Taste knows that Bourdain's co-host Ludo Lefebvre makes that show). It was Phil Keoghan's turn to get snubbed though, when his spot went to the team of Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn (Project Runway), the eventual winners.

The Emmy nominations for this year, announced today, continued its recent theme of out with the old, in with the...headscratching-ly awful. Betty White earned her third straight nomination along with Bergeron, Klum and Gunn, Deeley and Bourdain who all return as nominees. Probst and Keoghan are joined on the Emmy scrap-heap this year alongside newcomer Ryan Seacrest, who failed to land a nomination for the very first time since the categories inception.

Perhaps even more frustrating for Survivor fans, is that this past year gave us two of the most memorable seasons of the show in recent memory, yet it still couldn't land a nomination for "Outstanding Reality-Competition Program." Survivor has actually never won the award since it became a category in 2003. In 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006, Survivor was at least nominated, but it hasn't even scored a nomination since then. That category has actually been all but owned by The Amazing Race, which has won an unbelievable nine times out of eleven (losing only in 2010 to Top Chef and last year to The Voice).

It is quite sad that the show that started it all - and even launched the phrase "Reality-Competition Program" - has never been critically recognized by the TV industry. Apparently, Betty White has not been recognized enough.

For a full list of this year's Emmy nominations, click here.

Report this ad