Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Jayhawks add two more to award watch lists

Jimmay Mundine stretches across the goal line against Louisiana Tech on September 21, 2013 at Memorial Stadium in Lawrence, Kansas
Jimmay Mundine stretches across the goal line against Louisiana Tech on September 21, 2013 at Memorial Stadium in Lawrence, Kansas
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Ben Heeney added to another watch list, earns All-Big 12 Pre-Season Honors. Jayhawk punter Pardula and tight end Mundine named to watch lists.

The University of Kansas Jayhawk football team added two more members to award lists this week. After the announcement on Monday that Ben Heeney was named to the preliminary watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, two more Jayhawks were placed on watch lists.

On Tuesday Jimmay Mundine was named John Mackey Award preseason watch list. Mundine is one of three tight ends selected in the Big 12 and one of 38 in the nation. The senior from Denison, Texas leads the team in touchdown catches and is second in receptions and receiving yards. In 2013 Mundine caught a touchdown in four straight games, giving him a total of five for the season. He was voted to the All Big 12 Honorable Mention team after completing the season third among Big 12 tight ends in receptions and yards.

John “Mack Truck” Mackey was well known for his speed and power. He was a member of the Super Bowl V Champion Baltimore Colts, elected to the Pro-Bowl five times, a three time All NFL Player and was named to the League’s 50th anniversary team. It was his leadership off the field, however, that led him to becoming the President of the NFL’s Player’s Association where he lobbied for changes that are still in effect for NFL players today. In 2000, the John Mackey Award was created to honor exemplary tight ends at the collegiate level.

25 punters are named to the Ray Guy Award preseason watch list. Jayhawk punter Trevor Pardula is one of those punters. The San Jose native and senior punter earned honorable mention All-Big 12 honors for the Jayhawks in 2013 with his impressive 24 punts of 50 yards or more, including a career best 78-yard punt. Pardula is not new to the collegiate punting awards world. In 2013 he was named to Phil Steele’s Midseason All-America Team and after a stellar performance against Louisiana Tech was named Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Week, the Ray Guy Player of the week and College Football Performance Award punter of the week.

Ray Guy was named to six straight Pro-Bowls, seven total, led the NFL in punting three times and is a member of the NFL 75th Anniversary All-Time Team. Guy was also a member of three Super Bowl winning teams. The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor the Thomson, Georgia native.

Senior Ben Heeney, who was named to the Chuck Bednarik Award preseason watch list Monday, has been named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy preseason watch list The Football Writers Association of America announced Thursday morning. Heeney was also named to the First-Team Preseason All- Big 12 team by Phil Steele Magazine and Athlon Sports. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy presentation will be held on December 8th at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The John Mackey Award and Ray Guy Award will be presented on December 8th at the Home Depot College Football Awards.

Catch the Jayhawks first kick-off of the season at 6 pm on September 6th when they play host to Southeast Missouri State at Memorial Stadium.

Report this ad