Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Performing Arts

Jamie O'Neal is back with a new CD. Yep, we waited five years

See also

For the record: Country crooner Jamie O'Neal, whose hits include "There Is No Arizona," "When I Think About Angels," "Somebody's Hero" and "Trying To Find Atlantis," will release Eternal, her first new album in five years. (Fans have been counting!) The 11-track collection, scheduled to be released March 18 on Shanachie Entertainment in partnership with O'Neal's Momentum Label group, features O'Neal's own unique take on classic hits by Patsy Cline, Bruce Cockburn, Deborah Allen, Larry Gatlin, Emmylou Harris, Kris Kristofferson, Loretta Lynn, Juice Newton and Connie Smith. The bonus track "Wide Awake" is the only original song included on the CD. The tune was co-written by O'Neal and her father/manager.
"Eternal is a little different for me," explains Jamie. "I grew up listening to these songs and was shaped by the artists who originally made them famous. It was an honor and a challenge to record such wonderful songs. There's also a bonus track that fans have been asking me to record. It's a funny song I wrote with my dad as an ode to everyone who gets to sleep with a 'snoring moose' every night. I had so much fun recording this whole album and was a little sad when it was finished, but now I get to finally release it, and I can't wait for everyone to hear it!"
Born in Sydney Australia, O'Neal's lifelong passion for performing and her affinity for country music have made her one of the genre's most respected artists. In 2000, she became a household name with her single, "There Is No Arizona," which set her path to stardom on fire with multiple No. 1 hits and four Grammy nominations and numerous national television appearances.
As a talented songwriter, O'Neal has not only written many of her biggest hits, but has also penned hits for such notable artists as CeCe Winans, LeAnn Rimes, Martina McBride and Reba McEntire. O'Neal has also landed original songs on soundtracks for When We Were Soldiers and Desperate Housewives, and performed the pop classic "All By Myself" in the movie Bridget Jones's Diary.
Does this mean another five-year wait?


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Jack White has played the longest show of his career, going for over three hours
    Music Buzz
  • Donald Sterling
    Donald Sterling loses big in court, Clippers sale will proceed
    Today's Buzz
  • Steve Nash
    The Los Angeles Lakers will not use stretch provision on Steve Nash
    NBA Buzz
  • Peter Gabriel
    Peter Gabriel revisits classics in new concert film 'Back to Front'
    20 Photos
  • Train
    Train rocks an outdoor show with old favorites and new hits in Tahoe
    15 Photos
  • Rascal Flatts
    Rascal Flatts to perform at Washington Redskins Training Center in Richmond, Va.
    11 Photos