Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Recreation
  3. Recreational Sports

James Hahn breaks Top 10 drought at HP Byron Nelson Championship

See also

Alameda’s James Hahn put together his best four rounds of golf since February 2013 this weekend at the HP Byron Nelson Championship, recording a T-5 finish, his best result – and only Top 10 finish – since tying for third at the 2013 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-am.

The 2003 Cal-Berkeley grad got off to a slow start on the par-70 TPC Four Seasons Resort course, carding a 1-over 71 in Thursday’s opening round. A pair of 65s on Friday and Saturday vaulted him up the leaderboard to T-3 at the beginning of Sunday’s final round.

Friday’s 6-under came on the strength of seven birdies, the only blemishes on the round a pair of bogeys, one each on the closing holes of the front and back nines. Hahn’s Saturday round featured a back-nine surge – a five-hole string of birdies, after bogeying the 11th hole.

Hahn, who left professional golf for a few years to work as an ad executive and a shoe salesman at a Bay Area Nordstrom, couldn’t find the same magic in Sunday’s final round as he had pulled together on the previous two days. A desultory even-par round that set three birdies against an equal number of birdies dropped him two places in the final accounting, to T-5. Especially disappointing for the native of Seoul, South Korea, was a two-putt bogey on the 72nd hole, which dropped him out of a three-way tie for 3rd into a half share of fifth place.

This weekend’s winner was Brendan Todd. Todd, a native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania who makes his home in Atlanta, is the eighth first-time winner on the PGA Tour this season, and one of five former University of Georgia golfers to record victories in the PGA Tour’s 2013-2014 season.

Canada’s Mike Weir, the 2003 Masters champion, took solo second place. Weir, who has battled injuries for the past few seasons, hasn’t won on the PGA Tour since 2007, when he took home the title at the Fry’s Electronics open. Georgia’s Charles Howell III and Australian Marc Leishman shared third place.