Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

James Franco to receive prestigious award at the Venice Film Festival

James Franco attends the 'Child Of God' premiere at Tribeca Grand Hotel on July 30, 2014 in New York City.
Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images

The busiest man in Hollywood is set to receive another award. According to a report by the Hollywood Reporter Friday, James Franco is in store to receive the prestigious Jaeger-Le Coultre Glory Award at the Venice Film Festival this year. The award is given to those who inspire and are focused on innovating contemporary cinema.

The actor-director will receive the award before premiering “The Sound and the Fury,” his big-screen adaptation of the classic novel by William Faulkner. The project is another example of Franco’s range of directing and acting. His commitment to bringing different themes of film to the forefront is one of the reasons he was selected for this year’s award.

Venice Film Festival director Alberto Barbera highlighted the film as an example of Franco’s “boldness.” He said in a statement, “The adaptation of the great classics of American literature, like his new film based on a novel by Faulkner which will be presented in Venice, is a major thread in his creative approach, characterized by boldness, lucidity, courage and self-confidence. These values transform his omnivorous verve into a concept of total art performance, founded on considerable curiosity and intelligence.”

Franco stars in “The Sound and the Fury” alongside close friend Scott Haze, Seth Rogan and Jon Hamm. The film is the second adaptation of a William Faulkner novel. It also further demonstrates the acting range of James Franco. He has directed and acted in LGBT-themed films, appeared on Broadway in “Of Mice and Men,” has starred on the big screen and has even made appearances on the daytime soap opera “General Hospital.”

Franco has previously attended the Venice Film Festival to promote films like “Sal,” “Spring Breakers,” “Palo Alto,” and “Child of God,” which he also stars in with Haze. Previous recipients of the award include Takeshi Kitano, Abbas Kiarostami, Agnes Varda, Sylvester Stallone, Al Pacino, Spike Lee and Ettore Scola.

Report this ad