Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Jack White's label to issue LPs by Patton, McTell, Mississippi Sheiks (Photos)

Jack White's vinyl label, Third Man Records, has announced details for the inaugural January 29 releases in their Document Records series.

Album artwork for Charley Patton - The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order Volume 1
Album artwork for Charley Patton - The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order Volume 1
Third Man Records
Album artwork for the Mississippi Sheiks - The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order Volume 1
Third Man Records

Third Man is known for its eclectic selection of high quality, vinyl-only releases, ranging from Jerry Lee Lewis, Tom Jones, and Wanda Jackson to Beck, Insane Clown Posse, and the Black Belles ... not to mention Conan O'Brien and Stephen Colbert.

This new Document Records series presents seminal archival recordings of legendary musicians in chronological order. The first three releases feature Charley Patton, Blind Willie McTell, and the Mississippi Sheiks.

From the website:

Third Man Records is thrilled to announce the release of the first three records in our highly-anticipated Document Records reissue series.

Pre-orders are available now in our online store (with a January 29th in-store release date) for Volume 1 of The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order of Charley Patton, Blind Willie McTell and The Mississippi Sheiks. The first 400 customers to purchase the bundle of all three records will receive a free 5" x 8" print insert of the Rob Jones Charley Patton cover image.

Subsequent volumes will be released regularly and new artists will be slotted for release from this fantastic catalog of blues greats as soon as this first series is complete.

The recordings we'll be presenting in this reissue series are the building blocks and DNA of American culture. Blues, R&B, Elvis, teenagerism, punk rock... it all goes back to these vital, breathtaking recordings. Third Man Records is proud to present these landmark albums in conjunction with Document Records, with brand new, jaw-dropping artwork by Rob Jones and new insightful liner notes, on vinyl for the first time in decades. Every record collection should have ample room for these highly important and endlessly listenable albums.

The records will be released on 180 gram vinyl, manufactured by United Record Pressing of Nashville, Tennessee.

Below are the track listings:

The Complete Recorded Works in Chronological Order Volume 1

Charley Patton:

Side 1
1. Mississippi Boweavil Blues
2. Screamin' And Hollerin' The Blues
3. Down The Dirt Road Blues
4. Pony Blues
5. Banty Rooster Blues
6. It Won't Be Long
7. Pea Vine Blues
8. Tom Rushen Blues

Side 2
1. A Spoonful Blues
2. Shake It And Break It (But Don't Let It Fall Mama)
3. Prayer Of Death - Part 1
4. Prayer Of Death-Part 2
5. Lord I'm Discouraged
6. Lord I’m Discouraged (alt take)
7. I'm Goin'Home
8. Going To Move To Alabama

Blind Willie McTell:

Side 1
I. Writin' Paper Blues
2. Stole Rider Blues
3. Mama, Tain’t Long Fo’ Day
4. Mr. McTell Got The Blues (tk. 1)
5. Mr. McTell Got The Blues (tk 2)
6. Three Women Blues
7. Dark Night Blues
8. Statesboro Blues

Side 2
1. Loving Talking Blues
2. Atlanta Strut
3. Travelin' Blues
4. Come On Around To My House Mama
5. Kind Mama
6. Drive Away Blues
7. Love Changing Blues

The Mississippi Sheiks:

Side 1
1. Driving That Thing
2. Alberta Blues
3. Winter Time Blues
4. The Sheik Waltz
5. The Jazz Fiddler (take A)
6. The Jazz Fiddler (take B)
7. Sitting On Top Of The World

Side 2
1. Stop And Listen Blues
2. Lonely One In This Town
3. We Are Both Feeling Good Right Now
4. Cracking Them Things
5. Grinding Old Fool
6. Jake Leg Blues
7. Back To Mississippi
8. West Jackson Blues

Keep up with Performing Arts Examiner news. Just click on Subscribe above, or follow @DylanExaminer on Twitter. Harold Lepidus also writes the Bob Dylan Examiner column. Thanks for your support.


Report this ad