Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

It’s time to recognize literacy practitioners

2013 LAC Literacy Recognition Awards recipients.
2013 LAC Literacy Recognition Awards recipients.

If there is a literacy practitioner whom you would like to nominate for a recognition award, the time to do so is now. The Literacy Assistance Center (LAC) will hold its 29th Annual LAC Literacy Recognition Awards ceremony this June. Deadline for the nominations form is Friday, Mar. 14.

LAC established the Literacy Recognition Awards to “focus attention on the accomplishments of individual practitioners and of the literacy field as a whole” because too often the “the vital work of literacy practitioners is honored only by their students and immediate peers.”

Therefore, for the past 28 years, LAC, the Book Industry Guild of New York, and others have honored over 175 local literacy practitioners. Since 2004, the Book Industry Guild of New York has given awardees' programs a library development grant.

Peers, supervisors, or students may nominate candidates, who must be:

  • Program administrators, teachers, volunteers, counselors, staff developers, or support staff members
  • Employed in a program in basic education, ESOL, math, basic education in the native language, GED, family literacy, health literacy, or a related area
  • Outstanding in their contribution to their students, their program, or the NYC literacy community

The ceremony takes place at the New School, Theresa Lang Community and Student Center Auditorium, on June 11, at 10 a.m. Submit the completed nomination form to Tony Pupello at, or contact him for additional information.

Report this ad