Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Iowa Wrestling: Hawkeyes locked into another fourth-place finish

Iowa junior Bobby Telford led five Hawkeye All-Americans from the Saturday morning session with a fourth-place finish at heavyweight at the 2014 NCAA Wrestling Championships.
University of Iowa

Six Iowa wrestlers will receive All-American recognition at tonight’s Parade of All-Americans before the national finals begin in Oklahoma City.

The Hawkeyes though are locked into the fourth position after another disappointing run at the 2104 NCAA Wrestling Championships.

Tony Ramos will wrestle for the 133-pound national title for the second straight season tonight when he faces Wisconsin’s Tyler Graff. The third-seeded Ramos beat fifth-seeded Graff, 2-1, at the Big Ten final two weeks ago.

The Hawkeyes that will be recognized before Saturday’s finals include Cory Clark, Derek St. John, Mike Evans, Nathan Burak and Bobby Telford.

St. John, last year’s national champion at 157, placed fifth this season and is an All-American for the fourth straight season. He is just the 18th Hawkeye all-time to accomplish that honor in all four competitive seasons and finished with 106 career wins.

“I came (to this tournament) for a purpose, and placing the lowest you’ve placed in four years kind of stings,” said St. John, who finished fourth as a freshman, second as a sophomore and first as a junior. “There’s been a lot of big matches, and a lot of accomplishments, but you have to come ready to go and you need to be ready to go every match. It’s a get what you deserve kind of thing I guess.”

Evans and Telford both earned All-America honors for the second time.

Evans was sixth at 174 pounds. His season consisted of 28 wins and a team-high six technical falls. Telford rebounded from an injury last year to place fourth at 285 pounds He was previously fifth as a freshman in 2012.

In his first-ever national tournament, Clark won five matches and took fifth at 125 pounds. Clark, who hails from Central Iowa, beat UNI’s Dylan Peters in the fifth-place match.

“I’ve always set high goals. This year’s was winning a national championship and it didn’t happen,” said Clark, who is the fourth Hawkeye freshman in five years to earn All-America honors. “It’s hard not to reach those goals, but the experience will definitely help going into next year.”

Burak was perhaps the surprise finisher at this year’s championships. He came in seeded 11th but wound up eighth at 197 after a 3-1 loss to third-seeded Morgan McIntosh of Penn State.

The Hawkeyes (74.5 points) have just one wrestler remaining and will not be able to move up from their current fourth-place position. Minnesota (104) is pacing the field after a strong Saturday morning session. The Gophers currently lead three-time defending national champion Penn State (101.5) by 2.5 points. Oklahoma State (87.5) and Edinboro (62) round out the top five.

Ramos, a three-time All-American, will chase his first national title tonight at 7 p.m. (CT). The finals, televised on ESPN and streamed online at, will start with the 174-pound title match and end at 165 pounds.


1. Minnesota 104

2. Penn State 101.5

3. Oklahoma St. 87.5

4. IOWA 74.5

5. Edinboro 62

6. Cornell 53

7. Ohio State 52

8. Virginia Tech 49

9. Oklahoma 45

10. Nebraska 43.5


285 - #6 Mike McMullan (NW) dec. #5 Bobby Telford (Iowa), 3-1


125 - #8 Cory Clark (Iowa) dec. Dylan Peters (UNI), 8-1

157 - #2 Derek St. John (Iowa) won by medical forfeit

174 - #5 Matt Brown (PSU) dec. #4 Mike Evans (Iowa), 6-3


197 - #3 Morgan McIntosh (PSU) dec. #11 Nathan Burak (Iowa), 3-1


125 - #3 Nico Megaludis (PSU) dec. #8 Cory Clark (Iowa), 5-2

157 - #4 Ian Miller (Kent State) dec. #2 Derek St. John (Iowa), 14-9

174 - #3 Robert Kokesh (Neb.) dec. #4 Mike Evans (Iowa), 10-4

285 - #5 Bobby Telford (Iowa) dec. #7 Mike McClure (MSU), 1-0


133 - #3 Tony Ramos (Iowa) vs. #5 Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)

Report this ad