Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Iowa Softball: Megan Blank named to third straight all-Big Ten first team

Iowa junior Megan Blank brought home another honor Wednesday when it was announced that she was named to the first-team all-Big Ten team for the third time in her career.
University of Iowa

For the third time in her career, Iowa shortstop Megan Blank is a first-team all-Big Ten selection.

The Hawkeye junior became the eighth Iowa player all-time to receive first team recognition three times and she also landed on the conference’s all-defensive team.

“Megan has done a good job and I think she’s elevated her game again this year,” head coach Marla Looper said. “Part way through the season, there was a switch that was flipped. She got more fire in her eyes and it’s nice to see that. We’ve always known she’s a quality ball player and that’s why she’s been recognized three years in a row.”

The California native leads the Hawkeyes in batting average (.366), slugging percentage (.611), on-base percentage (.455), hits (48), doubles (11), triples (3) and RBIs (25) this season.

Blank is currently third on the all-time Iowa charts with a .400 career batting average. She also ranks sixth with 43 doubles, eighth with 18 home runs, ninth with 113 RBIs and 10th with a 10 triples. And she still has one season left.

Blank leads the team with 13 multiple-hit games and six multiple-RBI games, has the longest reached base streak (14) and owns the longest hitting streak (9). She takes a six-game reached base streak into the 2014 Big Ten Tournament.

Senior outfielder and leadoff hitter Brianna Luna was also recognized by the Big Ten, receiving the team’s Sportsmanship Award.

The No. 8 seed Hawkeyes open postseason play against No. 9 seed Illinois at the 2014 Big Ten Softball Tournament in Evanston, Illinois. The game is scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. (CT) on Thursday and can be watched live online on the Big Ten Digital Network.

  1. To view the full list of Big Ten award winners, visit
Report this ad