Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

Iowa runs away with 2013 Midlands team title, with three individual champs

See also

After a one-year absence, University of Iowa returned to the 2013 Ken Kraft Midlands Championship in a big way, winning its 23rd team title with three individual champions at the two-day post-Christmas classic at Northwestern University on Monday night.

The Hawkeyes broke its own previous Midlands team scoring record with 187.5 points, 85 points ahead of runner-up Edinboro University. Iowa had five finalists, with 125-pounder Thomas Gilman, Derek St. John at 157, and 174’s Mike Evans leaving Evanston, Ill. with Midlands crowns.

Second-place Edinboro, with 102.5 team points, had one individual champ: 2013 NCAA runner-up Mitchell Port at 141 pounds.

University of Michigan placed third with 84 points, with true freshman heavyweight sensation Adam Coon as the Wolverines’ only titlewinner.

Defending Midlands team champ University of Illinois came in fourth, one point behind Big Ten rival Michigan, despite not having any wrestlers win an individual title.

With 70.5 points, University of Northern Iowa finished in fifth place. The Panthers’ Joe Colon won the 133-pound crown by pinning 2013 NCAA finalist Tony Ramos of Iowa in the title bout. For defeating the No. 1, No. 2, and No. 8 seeds, Colon was named the Midlands’ Dan Gable Outstanding Wrestler, as well as Champion of Champions.

Sixth-place University of Maryland could claim back-to-back individual titles, thanks to Jimmy Sheptock at 184, and, at 197, Christian Boley.

Two other schools had wrestlers win 2013 Midlands titles: Lehigh’s 149-pounder Mitchell Minotti, while North Dakota State had its first-ever Midlands champ in Steven Monk at 165.

The 51st Ken Kraft Midlands has been an end-of-year event on the amateur wrestling calendar since it was first established by former Northwestern wrestling champ, coach and athletic director Ken Kraft in December 1963. It typically features wrestlers from NCAA Division I, II and III programs, along with NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) athletes as well as those who have completed their collegiate careers.

Finals Results

  • 125: No. 4 Midlands seed Thomas Gilman (Iowa) dec. Jarrod Garnett (Bison WC), 6-1
  • 133: No. 4 Joe Colon (UNI) pinned No. 2 Tony Ramos (Iowa), 2:37
  • 141: No. 1 Mitchell Port (Edinboro) maj. dec. Steven Rodrigues (Ill.), 11-2
  • 149: No. 6 Mitchell Minotti (Lehigh) dec. No. 5 Eric Grajales (Mich.), 5-4
  • 157: No. 1 Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. No. 3 Taylor Walsh (Indiana) 9-3
  • 165: No. 1 Steven Monk (North Dakota St.) dec. No. 2 Nick Moore (Iowa), 4-2
  • 174: No. 1 Mike Evans (Iowa) pinned Shane Hughes (Columbia), 2:14
  • 184: No. 2 Jimmy Sheptock (Maryland) dec. Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa), 3-1 OT
  • 197: No. 2 Christian Boley (Maryland) dec. No. 4 Braden Atwood (Purdue), 9-5
  • Hwt: No. 3 Adam Coon (Mich.) dec. No. 1 Bobby Telford (Iowa), 3-2

Individual Honors

  • Dan Gable Most Outstanding Wrestler: Joe Colon (Northern Iowa)
  • Art Kraft Champion of Champions: Joe Colon (Northern Iowa)
  • Gorriaran Memorial (most pins in the quickest time): Taylor Walsh (Indiana) (four falls, 10:53)
  • Fastest Fall Award: Anthony Edgren (Wisconsin-Whitewater. 0:23)
  • Individual High Point Trophy: Mike Evans (Iowa), 29 points
  • Non-Division I Most Valuable Wrestler: Steve Dwyer (Beebe Trained Wrestling)

Final Team Standings (Top Ten)

  • 1. Iowa (185.5 team points)
  • 2. Edinboro (102.5)
  • 3. Michigan (84)
  • 4. Illinois (83)
  • 5. Northern Iowa (70.5)
  • 6. Maryland (68.5)
  • 7. Northwestern (63.5)
  • 8. Wisconsin (62.5)
  • 9. Lehigh (60.5)
  • 10. Indiana (57.5)

Want to know more? Relive the 2013 Ken Kraft Midlands with complete final brackets and team standings, and a replay of InterMat's live blog... along with individual team-oriented wrap-ups from Iowa wrestling... Edinboro... Michigan... Illinois... Northern Iowa... Maryland... Lehigh... North Dakota State. And get a historical perspective on the Midlands with this 2007 InterMat feature.

Ring out the old year... Check out College Wrestling Examiner's list Top Ten Stories of 2013.

The season is here! Don't miss a thing! Keep up with the biggest on-the-mat developments, as well coach hirings, firings and retirings, new programs, the IOC and Olympic wrestling, and other stories you won't find elsewhere... by clicking the "subscribe" button at the top of the page to make sure you don't miss a single article from College Wrestling Examiner, winner of Amateur Wrestling News' Dellinger Award as wrestling writer of 2011. It's absolutely FREE!


College Wrestling 101: Links to College Wrestling Examiner articles answering basic questions about wrestling, including rules, scoring, uniforms, more

Follow College Wrestling Examiner Mark Palmer on Twitter



  • Lance Armstrong steps back into the spotlight with a new instructional video
    Watch Video
  • The Penguins and Canadiens take early series leads in the Stanley Cup Playoffs
  • It only took 14 innings, but the Red Sox emerge victorious over Chicago 6-4
  • Chris Johnson finally finds a home, signing a 2-year deal with the Jets
  • Falcons owner Arthur Blank will bring an MLS franchise to Atlanta in 2017
  • The NBA Playoffs are set, find out which team has the best odds to win it all

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!