Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Iowa Basketball: Roy Devyn Marble voted to all-B1G first team

Iowa junior Aaron White, left, was picked to the Big Ten Conference's third team for men's basketball on Monday. He averaged 13.3 points and 6.8 rebounds per game this season.
Iowa junior Aaron White, left, was picked to the Big Ten Conference's third team for men's basketball on Monday. He averaged 13.3 points and 6.8 rebounds per game this season.
Ryan Young/Getty Images

After averaging 17 points per contest through the team’s first 31 games, Iowa senior guard Roy Devyn Marble was honored with an all-Big Ten Conference first team nod on Monday.

Iowa senior guard Roy Devyn Marble, left, was one of five players named to the Big Ten Conference's first team on Monday. Marble averaged 18.3 points per game in B1G games this year.
Photo by Matthew Holst/Getty Images

Marble was named to the Big Ten Conference’s top men’s hoops team by both the coaches and media and was joined on the first team by Big Ten Conference Player of the Nic Stauskas of Michigan as well as Nebraska’s Terran Petteway of Nebraska, Michigan State’s Gary Harris and Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky.

Iowa junior forward Aaron White also was honored by the Big Ten, earning a spot on the all-conference third team for the second consecutive season. Sophomore point guard Mike Gesell was named Iowa’s men’s basketball Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Marble is the first Hawkeye since Adam Haluska in 2007 to land on the All-Big Ten Conference first team. After earning third-team honors last season, Marble ended the regular season with per game averages of 17 points, 3.4 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 1.8 steals. He is the only conference player to average more than 17 points per game and collect more than 55 steals.

In all games, Marble ranks fifth in the league in steals, sixth in scoring and 10th in assists. His 18.3 points per game average in Big Ten games ranks second and he scored at least 10 points in all but one Big Ten Conference game this year.

“This is well-deserved recognition for Devyn,” said Iowa coach Fran McCaffery. “He has worked hard to improve his overall game throughout his career. We have asked him to do a number of different things to help our team, and he always steps up to the challenge.”

Marble is one of two Big Ten players since 1985-86 to amass 1,650-plus points, 375-plus assists, 450-plus rebounds and 170-plus steals. He ranks sixth on Iowa’s career scoring list with 1,662 points, and has scored 21 points or more 11 times as a senior.

White, who was an honorable mention selection and a member of the Big Ten all-freshman team during his first season in Iowa City, currently ranks second in the Big Ten in field goal percentage (.558), sixth in rebounding (6.8) and 15th in scoring (13.3). He is the only player to average more than 13 points and seven rebounds in conference games and is currently 18th on Iowa’s all-time scoring list with 1,289 points.

A native of Strongsville, Ohio, White also is the only player in the nation shooting better than 55 percent from the floor and 80 percent from the foul line.

“Aaron affects a game in a number of ways for our team,” said McCaffery. “His value goes beyond what the numbers might suggest. He is one of the most versatile players in the Big Ten and the nation. Aaron constantly works at improving his game and this honor is a reflection of his hard work.”

The Big Ten’s all-conference second team coaches selections included Indiana’s Yogi Ferrell, Michigan’s Caris LeVert, Michigan State’s Adreian Payne, Penn State’s D.J. Newbill and Wisconsin’s Sam Dekker. The media second-team selections were Ferrell, LeVert, Payne, Newbill and Ohio State’s Aaron Craft.

White, Indiana’s Noah Vonleh and Penn State’s Tim Frazier were all selected to third team by the media and the coaches. Craft and Ohio State’s LaQuinton Ross were third-team coaches selections, while Dekker and Northwestern’s Drew Crawford were third-team media choices.

The Big Ten Freshman of the Year by both the media and coaches was Vonleh, while the Defensive Player of the Year and Sixth Man of the Year – voted by the coaches – was Craft and Nigel Hayes of Wisconsin, respectively.

Nebraska’s Tim Miles was voted as the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year by the coaches, while the media selected John Beilein of Michigan.

Iowa will open Big Ten Conference Tournament play against 11th seeded Northwestern at 8 p.m. Thursday. The winner between the sixth-seeded Hawkeyes and Wildcats will face third-seeded Michigan State at 8 p.m. Friday.

Report this ad