Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

Interview with Benson Henderson talking UFC, Seahawks & Sherman

See also

One of the best, most well-rounded fighters in the UFC was on the radio show I host, News Sentinel Sports Page on The Sports Animal this week. Benson Henderson is the former UFC Lightweight Champion who is working at trying to get that belt back.

#1 contender Benson Henderson (19-3-0) fights #4 contender Josh Thomson (20-5, 1NC) Saturday, January 25 live at the United Center in Chicago Saturday night in the main event of UFC on FOX 10. The main card airs live on FOX at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, preceded by the prelims on FOX Sports 1 at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT and UFC Fight Pass prelims at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT.

On Knoxville MMA fighter Scott Holtzman, an XFC champion, who he trains with…
“He’s good, man. He gives me some of my tougher rounds, He’s tough. He’s good enough to be in the UFC now. He’s maybe 1 or 2 fights away. You will see him in the UFC.”

On what he learned from his loss to Anthony Pettis in August that cost him his belt…
“Errors cost the fight. We all make mistakes. We all have holes in our game. It was just a good job by Anthony Pettis to capitalize on that mistake. Making sure that I don’t make that same mistake again, and get better from it.”

On his opponent in the main event Saturday night, Josh Thomson…
“The thing that stands out to me is just that he’s a true veteran of the sport. He’s fought all over the world. He’s trained with the best guys in the world for a long time. There is not going to be anything that really surprises him or throws him off balance. There’s not going to be anything that he hasn’t seen before. He’s seen it all."

On Richard Sherman’s outburst after Seahawks beat 49’ers in the NFC Championship…
“That’s the reason why you stick a microphone in front of an athlete’s face, what literally seconds from the biggest play of his career. He was just being honest, saying how he felt. The problem wasn’t what he said necessarily, probably the manner in which he said it.”

Ben Frederickson, from the Knoxville News Sentinel, and I talked about much more with the UFC’s Benson Henderson.

Listen to our entire visit with Benson Henderson HERE.

Subscribe to this page for much more on the SEC and national sports. Don’t miss more great interviews like this on the News Sentinel Sports Page, weekdays 10am to Noon, here on The Sports Animal.

Advertisement