Skip to main content

See also:

‘Insurgent,’ 2nd installment of ‘Divergent’ franchise commences production

SHAILENE WOODLEY and THEO JAMES star in DIVERGENTJaap Buitendijk © 2013 Summit Entertainment, LLC. All rights reserved.

Lionsgate announced March 27th that principal photography has commenced in Atlanta on the feature film adaptation of “Insurgent,” the second installment of the “Divergent” franchise. Golden Globe® nominee Shailene Woodley stars alongside Theo James, and Academy Award® winner Kate Winslet. Academy Award® winner Octavia Spencer joins returning cast members Jai Courtney, Ray Stevenson, Zoë Kravitz, Miles Teller, Ansel Elgort, Maggie Q and Mekhi Phifer. Based on author Veronica Roth’s New York Times best seller, the film is being directed by Robert Schwentke ("RED") from a screenplay by Brian Duffield and Akiva Goldsman.

Lionsgate will release “Insurgent” theatrically in North America through its Summit Entertainment label on Friday, March 20, 2015.

According to the official plot summary:

"Insurgent" raises the stakes for Tris as she searches for allies and answers in the dystopian ruins of a futuristic Chicago. Tris (Woodley) and Four (James) are now fugitives on the run, hunted by Jeanine (Winslet), the leader of the power-hungry Erudite elite. Racing against time, they must find out what Tris’s family sacrificed their lives to protect, and why the Erudite leaders will do anything to stop them. Haunted by her past choices but desperate to protect the ones she loves, Tris, with Four at her side, faces one impossible challenge after another as they unlock the truth about the past and ultimately the future of their world.

“Divergent” was written by first time author Veronica Roth. The film adaptation has grossed more than $260 million at the worldwide box office, making the film Lionsgate’s highest-grossing domestic box office release outside “The Hunger Games” and “Twilight” franchises.

The third and fourth installments in the series, “Allegiant - Parts 1 & 2,” are slated for release on March 18, 2016 and March 24, 2017, respectively.