Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

IndyCar: Who to watch in the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg

Will Power has won the pole at St. Pete four straight seasons (2010-2013)
Will Power has won the pole at St. Pete four straight seasons (2010-2013)
IndyCar Media: Chris Jones

The Verizon IndyCar Series begins its 2014 season with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg in Florida, Friday through Sunday, March 28th through 30th. The 1.8-mile, 14-turn street course has hosted nine previous IndyCar races (2005 to present), as well as one CART World Series race in 2003. Last year, James Hinchcliffe answered the question “Can he win?” with his first of three victories in the 2013 season, while a strong runner-up performance from Helio Castroneves set the pace for much of the rest of his season – until two rough races at Houston spoiled his championship chances.

Castroneves, who has three wins at St. Pete (2006, 2007 and 2012), won the pole for the race in 2007, but fourth-place championship finisher Will Power has won the last four poles (2010 through 2013). Power, who was runner-up for the championship for three straight seasons (2010 through 2012), has one win at St. Pete in 2010. Graham Rahal, winner of the 2008 event at St. Pete, became the youngest pole sitter in IndyCar history when he earned his first pole at St. Petersburg in 2009 (20 years, 90 days).

Qualifying for the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg takes place Saturday, March 29th at 2 p.m. ET, with the race going green on Sunday, March 30th at 3:20 p.m. ET. Keep up with the action at

Want to know who to watch in this weekend’s NHRA event? Check out the NHRA Examiner for NHRA previews, news and more.

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad