Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Indian Astrology Briefly Explained

Out of all sciences existing on this planet, Indian astrology is one of the oldest, being based upon ancient Indian saints and sages’ knowledge on how the planets influence our lives. This ramification of astrology has developed much earlier than the Western one, its roots going as far back in time as the Vedas, sacred scriptures that date back to 1500 B.C.

Indian astrology is not only incredibly interesting thanks to the wealth of concepts it comprises, but also instructive and useful to the entire human population. It relies upon predictions and foretellings of the future – regarding individuals, nations, and events –, thus contributing to the moral and material advancement all people. The Hindu astrology system is also known as Jyotisha or Light. This system takes into account how a human-being has been changed by his previous Karma so that it may predict his/her future more accurately.

Indian astrology has three different branches: Siddhanta, Samhita, and Hora. The first one is dedicated to the astronomical study of planets and stars. The second one treats mundane astrology – all events which have to do with everyday life, such as floods, earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, economic conditions, etc. The third one has to do with predicting the best timing for certain events in day-to-day life (for example, marriage).

These branches or schools of Indian astrology aren’t the only ones existing at the moment. There is another system, called Nadi Astrology or Nadi Shastra, which depicts destiny patterns of persons who were born at 12, 24, and 48-second intervals. In the process, palm leaves written by ancient sages are used. There are only a few experts who can read and understand these texts, and the predictions obtained y this means have been found to be extremely accurate.

The study of Indian astrology consists of 27 Nakshatras: the movements of the Sun and the Moon, the two luminaries; the five major planets: Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Venus, and Mercury; the two nodal points of the Moon, Rahu and Ketu; and then the outer planets, such as Pluto, Neptune, and Uranus which are not recognized by the Indian system because they have been discovered recently.

Another difference between Indian and Western astrology is that the latter uses a different Zodiac than the former. In India, the vast majority of the country’s population believes in astrology and the accuracy of predictions made based upon astrological studies. Therefore, it is commonly used in the case of everyday life events, aspect which has determined Indian scientists to demand financial support from the State in order to fund research into Vedic astrology.

Westerners’ interest in Indian astrology began its growth in the 90’s. What we perceive as Oriental and exotic – or even unusual – when it comes to Vedic astrology is in fact a study related to more natural matters, people establishing a deeper connection with nature and the universe. Studying this branch of astrology can leave you with new perspectives on life and on the world surrounding you.

Report this ad