Even though Illinois will have a concealed carry gun law in place come 2014, citizens are finding it impossible – thus far – to do the required training because the training is not available just three months before the new law is active, according to a Tuesday report in the Inquisitr.
The problem is, first, Illinois only has 54 registered instructors who can train Illinoisans on how to hand a weapon. Secondly, instructors cannot begin instructing students or telling potential students what will be taught because the instructors have yet to be given the state-approved curriculum for teaching the courses.
Illinois is the last state in the country to pass a concealed carry law. Its requirements are among the strictest – if not the strictest – in the country for citizens, as well. Applicants must complete 16 hours of training before getting the legal documents that are necessary to carry a gun in the state when the new year begins.
The Illinois State Police claim that 1,000 people have requested work as an instructor. Before becoming an instructor, a person must become state-approved.
A state spokesperson, Monique Bond, claims she’s confident that there will be enough instructors to provide the required training to prospective applicants. She also said that training could begin when the state’s approved curriculum is ready.
Again, persons are supposed to be able to request applications for their concealed carry permit at the beginning of the year. Yet, they need to complete 16 hours of training of a course that has no curriculum at this time, and has only 54 qualified instructors so far.
Some Instructors and persons anxious to get their concealed carry gun permit are reportedly frustrated.