Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

iHeartRadio Music Awards 2014 live stream NBC online, TV start time and channel

Shakira performs in concert.
Shakira performs in concert.
Photo by Robert Marquardt/Getty Images

According to an LA-Times report on May 1, 2014, the first-ever iHeartRario Music Awards take place tonight from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles, Calif., beginning at 8 p.m. ET (7 p.m. CT/6 p.m. MT/5 p.m. PT). This three-hour event will be broadcast on NBC.

NBC and Clear Channel Media and Entertainment brings together some of the biggest acts in music hoping to make a splash in its fist installment of the iHeartRadio Music Awards. Tonight's performers include Kendrick Lamar, Ariana Grande, Shakira, Ed Sheeran, Arcade Fire, Drake, Blake Shelton and others.

In addition, an NBC-Miami report states the most popular artists and music of the past 12 months will be honored during tonight's proceedings. This year's categories and finalists were assembled after 13.2 million votes were casted through social media outlets like Facebook and Twitter.

One of the most anticipated categories of the night is 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards Artist of the Year. The nominees are: Rihanna, Justin Timberlake, Maroon 5, Macklemore &Ryan Lewis and Imagine Dragons.

Not to be outdone, "Stay" by Rihanna will also be competing in the category of Song of the Year. Matched up against her smash-hit is "Hold On, We're Going Home" (Drake and Majid Jordan), "Mirrors" (Justin Timberlake), and "The Monster", where she collaborated alongside Eminem.

The most voted category of the 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards is for "Best Collaboration". Accounting for 3.9 million votes, the nominees/finalists are: Jay-Z and Justin Timberlake for "Holy Grail" and "Suit & Tie," Rihanna and Mikky Ekko for "Stay," Pitbull featuring Kesha with "Timber" and Eminem and Rihanna for their hit "The Monster."

It’s clearly going to be a great night of great performances, popular presenters and some very interesting categories. Pop music lovers cannot afford to miss the first-ever iHeartRario Music Awards live from Tensiletown tonight on NBC. Watch the national broadcast or click on the link provided above to liste to the free live stream online.

Here's a look at some of the best categories of the evening in the 2014 iHeartRadio Music Awards:

Artist of the Year:

Imagine Dragons
Justin Timberlake
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Maroon 5

Song of the Year:

"Hold On, We're Going Home" - Drake featuring Majid Jordan
"Mirrors" - Justin Timberlake
"Radioactive" - Imagine Dragons
"Stay" - Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko
"The Monster" - Eminem featuring Rihanna

Best Collaboration:

"Holy Grail" - Jay Z featuring Justin Timberlake
"Stay" - Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko
"Suit & Tie" - Justin Timberlake featuring Jay Z
"The Monster" - Eminem featuring Rihanna
"Timber" - Pitbull featuring Kesha

Best New Artist:

Florida Georgia Line
Icona Pop
Imagine Dragons
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Country Song of the Year:

"Boys 'Round Here" - Blake Shelton
"Highway Don't Care" - Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift
"It Goes Like This" - Thomas Rhett
"Mine Would Be You" - Blake Shelton
"That's My Kind of Night" - Luke Bryan

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year:

"Blurred Lines" - Robin Thicke featuring T.I. & Pharrell
"Hold On We're Going Home" - Drake featuring Majid Jordan
"Holy Grail" - Jay Z featuring Justin Timberlake
"Pour It Up" - Rihanna
"Started from the Bottom" - Drake

EDM Song of the Year:

"Get Lucky" Daft Punk featuring Pharrell
"Stay the Night" - Zedd featuring Hayley Williams
"Summertime Sadness" - Zedd featuring Hayley Williams
"Sweet Nothing" - Calvin Harris featuring Florence Welch
"Wake Me Up" - Avicii

Alternative Rock Song of the Year:

"Demons" - Imagine Dragons
"Do I Wanna Know?" - Arctic Monkeys
"Pompeii" - Bastille
"Royals" - Lorde
"Safe and Sound" - Capital Cities

Best Lyrics:

"Wake Me Up" - Avicii (Vocals by Aloe Blacc)
"I Love It" (featuring Charli XCX) - Icona Pop
"Say Something" - A Great Big World
"Same Love" - Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
"Wrecking Ball" - Miley Cyrus

Best Fan Army:

Arianators - Ariana Grande
Little Monsters - Lady Gaga
Lovatics - Demi Lovato
Mahomies - Austin Mahone
Rihanna Navy - Rihanna
Swifties - Taylor Swift

Report this ad