Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. General Religion

I Ching 101.9: Reviewing the first four Gua

See also

Let’s discuss the First Four Hexagrams (“Gua”) all together, shall we? There is an amazing relationship between the Hexagrams of this group. Its members, to review, are: Chien (“Creative”), Kun (“Receptive”), Chun (“Beginnings”), and Meng (“Childhood”).

Although King Wen called the First Two Gua “Creative” and “Receptive”, it is clear that they refer to “Heaven”, i.e., the Spiritual World, and “Earth”, the Material World. However, the “Orderly Sequence of the Gua”, written by Confucius or one of his disciples, makes it clear.

Heaven and Earth were created, and then the Ten Thousand Things were produced. The Ten Thousand Things fill up the space between Heaven and Earth. Hence Chien and Kun are followed by Chun, which denotes filling up. Chun denotes what has just been born. What has just been born is in its childhood. Thus, after Beginnings, Childhood follows.

Perhaps you may have noticed, that the First Two are opposites, Chien being composed of all Yang lines, and Kun of all Yin lines. This sets the Pattern what is to come for the remaining Sixty-Two Gua. Thus, Chun is composed, from bottom to top, of the following lines: Yang, Yin, Yin, Yin, Yang, Yin, and Meng is In order to truly understand an individual Gua, it is best to turn it upside down and compare it to its partner.



  • Dan Savage
    Dan Savage cares about LGBT youth, bullying and saving lives
    Today's Buzz
  • Raku
    Teachers and students can use this summer to learn a new skill
    15 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    10 Photos
  • Greek wine
    Unwind with these delicious wines: The thrilling wines of Greece
    7 Photos
  • Mandy Moore
    Exclusive interview with Celebrity Mandy Moore concerning animal activism
    5 Photos
  • Educational family vacations
    Find out how to take an educational family vacation that doesn't break the bank
    9 Photos

Related Videos:

  • 'Song of the New Earth': New film out about sound healer Tom Kenyon, Exceptional
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Bullies do not belong in today's society
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518257942" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Jewish Zodiac
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>