Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

Husson wins NAC championship

See also

The Husson University Eagles men's basketball team outscored the University of Maine at Farmington (UMF) Beavers 17-10 in overtime to earn a 96-89 victory in the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) championship game on Saturday afternoon.

The Beavers battled back from an 11 point deficit with seven minutes remaining in regulation to force overtime.

Husson took a 70-62 lead when Aaron Willis hit a three pointer with 3:40 remaining in the second half.

UMF sent the game to overtime when Pet Sumner nailed a three pointer with five seconds remaining in regulation.

Ben Johnson gave the Beavers an 81-79 lead early in the overtime period.

Husson followed that with an 11-2 run to take a commanding 90-83 lead.

Trevon Butler led the Eagles with 28 points, nine rebounds, and five assists. Butler was named NAC tournament MVP.

Phil Leighton added 18 points and four assists. Willis chipped in with 14 points, including making four 3-pointers.

Johnson led the Beavers with 28 points and 20 rebounds. Garrett Clemmer added 20 points.

The rest of the NAC all tournament team includes- Corey Wood (Husson), Johnson (UMF), Sam Leal (UMF), David Johnson (Lyndon State), and Chad Copeland (Castleton).

Husson (26-2) earned an automatic bid to the NCAA division 3 tournament.

The Eagles will play a first round game on March 6th or 7th.

The NCAA division three selection show will be held on Monday.

The Beavers finish the season with a record of 13-15.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Brees gets tested
    Saints Drew Brees says he has 10 years left in NFL, immediately gets drug tested
    NFL News
  • Bryan subdues burglar
    Former WWE champ Daniel Bryan holds down burglar with submission move
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court