Skip to main content

See also:

Hufnagel a finalist for CFL coach of the year

John Hufnagel
John Hufnagel
Getty Images

According to the Calgary Stampeders website on Monday, Calgary Stampeders head coach John Hufnagel is one of the three finalists for the 2013 Annis Stukus Trophy.

The Annis Stukus Trophy is presented to the Canadian Football League's coach of the year. The other finalists are Kent Austin of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats and Corey Chamblin of the Saskatchewan Roughriders.

In 2013, the Stampeders were the best team in the Canadian Football League's regular season. They posted a record of 14-4. They also led the CFL with 549 points.

The Roughriders meanwhile had the best defense as they gave up only 398 points. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, February 5.

In other CFL news, Montreal Alouettes quarterback Anthony Calvillo announced his retirement on Tuesday. Calvillo retires as the CFL's all-time leader in passing yards (79 816), pass completions (5 892), completions in one game (44), and touchdown passes in a career (455).