Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

HTA awards students with $18,500 in scholarship funds

HTA 2014 scholarship winners
HTA 2014 scholarship winners
Terry St. John

The Houston Tennis Association has distributed college scholarships totaling $18,500 to 12 greater Houston area high school graduates.

The students received sums from $1,000 to $2,000. In addition to funds provided by HTA, donors included the World Oilman’s Tennis Tournament, the National Senior Women’s Clay Court Championships Tennis Tournament, and West Houston Ladies Tennis Association. Two of the awards were given in memory of Steve Wolford and one of Michael Horvath, Jr.

Students who received the grants and their high schools and college destinations are Christopher Bishop (Nederland High, Lamar University); Daniel Cervantes (Austin High, Texas A&M); Julie Dinh (Alief Hastings, U of H); Alejandra Duque (Westside, U of H); Bryan Granhold (Dayton, Lee College); Lavanya Hospeti (Clear Brook High, Trinity University); Ronen Jacob (Clear Springs, UT, San Antonio); Tony Ly (Dobie, UT, Austin); Ashton Taylor McGee (Lamar Consolidated, Mary Hardin Baylor); Melida Perez-Errasquin, Chinquapin Prep, U of Tulsa); Brianna Rivera (Chinquapin, Emory); and Catherine Wythe (Woodlands High, Stanford).

All 12 students played either varsity tennis for their high school teams, participated in NJTL or in local USTA tournaments.

The HTA has awarded more than $206,000 in scholarship funds to deserving high school seniors since 1992.

(Photo Caption: Front row--John Talbot (WOTT), Debbie Bulling (WHLTA), Cheryl Hultquist Horvath (HTA), Catherine Blevins (WHLTA); Second row--Julie Dinh; Middle row--Ashton Taylor McGee, Alejandra Duque, Catherine Wythe, Brianna Rivera; Back row: Bryan Granhold, Christopher Bishop, Daniel Cervantes, Tony Ly. Not pictured are Ronen Jacob, Melida Perez-Errasquin and Lavanya Hospeti.)

Report this ad