Skip to main content

See also:

Hobey Hat Trick finalists announced

Hobey Baker Award finalists announced
Hobey Baker Award finalists announced
National Collegiate Athletic Association

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Foundation on Wednesday announced the three Hobey Hat Trick finalists for the 2014 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, honoring college hockey’s top player. Here are your finalists: Greg Carey, senior forward from St. Lawrence University, Nic Dowd, senior forward from St. Cloud State University and Johnny Gaudreau, junior forward from Boston College.

The Hobey Baker Award is similar to what the Heisman Trophy is to college football. In this case, the Hobey is awarded to college hockey’s top player.

The finalists were selected from a list of ten by the twenty-seven member selection committee as well as a round of online fan voting to determine the winner. Established criteria for winning the Hobey Baker Award includes: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements. will nationally air the Hobey announcement at 6pm ET as well as

Geoff Discher is's National College Hockey Examiner as well as the Minnesota Golden Gophers Hockey Examiner. Leave a comment below, or feel free to reach him at with comments, story ideas, or any general talk surrounding college hockey. You can find him on Facebook as well by clicking here and here, joining the conversation from the social media side as well. He's always chock full of fact and opinion.

Until next time, I’ll see you at the rink!