Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Historics: SVRA awards Brabham, Watson, other trophies at Brickyard Invitational

See also

The Sportscar Vintage Racing Association (SVRA) awarded four special trophies on Sunday, June 8, as part of its inaugural Brickyard Invitational racing weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS). The trophies presented were: the A. J. Watson Tribute Trophy; the Sir Jack Brabham Commemorative Trophy; a pre-war category trophy and the "Best of Show" trophy.

More Photos

The four special awards were presented for best examples of specific cars. According to SVRA, long-time car roadster collector Bill Aiken won the first "A.J. Watson Tribute Trophy" for his black 1953 Kurtis-Kraft front-engine machine best known for finishing third in the Indy 500 in the hands of driver Jimmy Davies in 1955.

The pre-war category trophy was captured by another car with exceptional history – owner Peter Giddings’ 1931 Alfa-Romeo. The best drivers of 1930’s Europe drove that car: Tazio Nuvolari, Achille Varzi and Rudolf Caracciola.

The Sir Jack Brabham Commemorative Trophy was won by Bob Lima for his #9 white 1967 Brabham BT21 (pictured first in slideshow with this article). The trophy honors the Australian Formula 1 driver who is the only competitor to have won a world championship while driving a car of his own design. Both motor sports figures honored by named trophies, Brabham and Watson, passed away in May of this year.

Rounding out the special trophies was Wil Painter’s 1966 Alfa Romeo GTV which was named overall "Best-of-Show."

The SVRA Brickyard Invitational brought 712 total cars to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for three full days of racing and driving runs utilizing both the iconic oval and the road circuit tracks. Proceeds from the event that was open to the public benefited the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum Foundation.