Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Historics: Goodwood Revival to feature 8 British Touring Car champions

Historics: Goodwood Revival to feature 8 British Touring Car champions
Historics: Goodwood Revival to feature 8 British Touring Car champions
Photo provided by Goodwood, used with permission.

The Goodwood Revival of 2014 will feature as many as eight British Touring Car Champions for its St. Mary's Trophy competition during the historic racing weekend of September 12-14. The information comes from the Goodwood estate in a press announcement released on Thursday, July 17.

According to Goodwood, the St. Mary's Trophy contest is a two-part race of 1950s-era production "saloons," with each car featuring a current or former professional racing driver. The overall result will be declared from a combination of the two races. Cars featured include BMW, Fiat, Jaguar, Morris, Sunbeam, and others.

Called "tin-tops" in Britain, the sedans in this year's race will be driven by pros from around Europe. Named on Thursday, were the following eight drivers -- making his Goodwood debut will be Italian legend Fabrizio Giovanardi who claimed the 2007 and ’08 BTCC titles to add to his Spanish, Italian and European crowns. He will drive Alfa Romeo machinery among a 30-car field of cars of a kind that raced between 1950-’59.

Midlander Matt Neal, who took his three crowns in 2005, ’06 and ‘11, will race a 1959 Austin A35 with Neil Brown, whose organization prepares the engines for Neal’s Honda Civic BTCC machine.

Neal’s regular team-mate Gordon Shedden, who won the 2012 BTCC, will also race an A35, while the man who usurped him as champion - Andrew Jordan - will be behind the wheel of an A40 from 1958. He will share the car, which has been prepared by his family’s Eurotech Racing establishment, with his father Mike – a BTCC racewinner himself.

Jason Plato, who holds the record for BTCC race victories with an incredible 83, and claimed the title in 2001 and ‘10, will partner TV chef and Goodwood regular James Martin in an-ex Alan Mann Racing Ford Prefect 107E of 1959 specification while 1990 champion Robb Gravett will pilot a Vauxhall PA Cresta.

According to Goodwood, popular Scotsman John Cleland, champion in 1989 and ’95, and Northern Irish ace Colin Turkington, who claimed his 2009 title in the most dramatic of circumstances at a thrilling season finale, are both also likely to be behind the wheel of legendary machinery.

The Goodwood Revival is held each September at the Goodwood Circuit on the grounds of the Goodwood Estate in West Chichester, England. Several races are held over the weekend, and both participants and spectators are encouraged to dress in period clothing or style from 1948 to 1966, the dates representing when Goodwood ran as a regular professional racing circuit.

The Richard Burns Foundation is the Revival’s official charity partner. The Revival beneficiary for 2014 is the National Motor Museum Trust.

Report this ad