Skip to main content

See also:

Help Jenna FINALLY get a clean break

Jenna
JennaJenna

This is a personal story of a person raising money through crowdfunding.

Here it is in her own words

My fiancé, who is now my ex, has some serious issues including anger and physical abuse problems that I had been trying to help him fix for over 500 days. On Valentine's Day 2014, after he gave me a bruise that I still have over a week later and really messed my wrist up, among other things, I finally hit my breaking point. I realized that I can't be the one to fix him - he needs to fix himself - through therapy, medication, and self-confidence.

After I told him it was over, all hell pretty much broke loose, I told my parents what had been going on, and they picked me up that next morning around noon. We got most of my stuff, including my cat, though my mother and I have to come up in a few days to get the rest (that can fit).

Obviously, I am mourning not only the loss of an almost two year relationship with a man I loved and cared about with all of my soul, but one I still do. However, I logically know that I needed to get out. It took a while for me to get the courage, but I did.

However, I intended for this to be a clean break, a fresh start, as my parents live 2 hours south from where we lived. That's not what happened.

As much as I love my parents, and how privileged I am that they pretty much dropped everything to come and get me, I have no chance to heal. My parents micromanage everything, I have no privacy at all, not even for a phone call, and I am treated like I am 14 - having to explain where I am going everytime I leave the house/why/when I will be back/etc. If I don't conform to their extremely strict regulations, I get yelled at. I know a lot of people my age who still live with their parents and have never had these type of problems.
I have lived on my own for five years, and I am also an extremely introverted person. My parents live in a small town with a population of around 5,000 people, and the only people I know in the general area are family members.

None of this is conducive to grieving or healing or anything like that - even though no one has died in the literal sense, I am still grieving and I need to be able to process that in a healthy and constructive way. Living with my parents - that is impossible.

So, to sum that all up, I really, really, need my fresh start, my clean break. This has been anything but fresh or clean. I need to move far away from New York, and I need the chance to heal. I need to go where no one knows me, and I don't know any of them.

Here is where you come in. I know the total at the top is EXTREMELY daunting - I do NOT expect in any way, shape, or form, to raise that much. I will be getting a job and working as long as I am at my parent's, my tax refund money will be going to it - basically any extra cash I have will be applied for this. I have also (tried, but I think I am a little short) of figuring out the fees that GoFundMe and WePay charge (GoFund does 5% for every transaction, and WePay does 2.9% from each and an additional 30 cents for each transaction). If you would like to avoid this, you can donate to my paypal (make sure you check it as a gift, or there are fees there too). Get in contact with me not-anonymously through my Tumblr/Facebook/Twitter/Whatever and I will give you my email address so that you can do so.

SO: Where am I trying to get to? Florida. Why Florida? Well, as some of you may know, even though I am only 22, I have some serious lifelong chronic pain issues that started when I was 16, and New York's "two seasons" only exacerbate them. These include, Fibromyalgia, joint issues, cartilage defects in both knees, Reynauld's. Other than chronic pain, I also suffer from extreme anxiety issues (both social and generalized), Major Depressive Disorder, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, asthma, and migraines.
Phew. That was a lot to write out.
Anyway, the heat and humidity will help with pretty much every single one of these ailments (including my depression - the massive intake of Vitamin D - which I already have a chronic deficiency of, will help that immensely). The access to the beach and salt water will enable me to get the gentle exercise that can ease a lot of these problems as well. The only thing that can't really be helped by Florida is my anxiety, but that's ~pretty well controlled~ through medication.

Right now, I am looking at places on the east coast of Florida, from Cape Canaveral down to Miami. Obviously prices vary, and I have to do a lot of research into the safeness of an area (especially around Miami), so it will be a lotttt of research for me.
I would love to ideally be around the Fort Lauderdale area, but rent there is a bit higher than other places, and a lot of places for rent are age restricted 55+ up.

SO: Here is the price breakdown as much as I can estimate so far. Some prices I can give an exact quote on, while others I had to round.

Getting my stuff down there: I don't have a couch/chair/kitchen table, so that saves a lot of room, but I have a dresser/desk/bed/television and stand/and obviously boxes with kitchen stuff, clothes, and miscellaneous items in it.
I did research, and I found that my best best is doing the UHAUL Pods - basically they pick up my stuff for me, drive it down (so I don't have to worry about driving this huge truck or paying for the gas or tolls), and then leave in the driveway/parking lot extremely secured for when I get there. It takes about 11 days for shipping time, so I'll have to time it accordingly and leave stuff I will need during that time to pack in my car.
Total: $1,908.04

You can support Jenna here: http://www.gofundme.com/Jenna