Headless Horseman is an iconic black creature card from Wizards of the Coast's "Magic: The Gathering" expansion set "Legends."
Headless Horseman - 2B
Creature - Zombie Knight
". . . The ghost rides forth to the scene of battle in nightly quest of his head . . . he sometimes passes along the Hollow, like a midnight blast . . ."
Washington Irving, "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow"
It's important to note that Headless Horseman isn't actually Horseman as originally printed. Headless Horseman received errata during The Grand Creature Type Update, and the current oracle wording transforms this curious creature oddity into a fearsome Zombie Knight. Unfortunately, it didn't receive "Horsemanship" like many "Portal Three Kingdoms" cards such as Lu Xun, Scholar General.
Headless Horseman may not be the most impressive creature, however it's quite amazing what changing a card's subtype can do. Now Headless Horseman is essentially another Scathe Zombies to throw into your commander deck.
Headless Horseman will help increase your zombie count for Endless Ranks of the Dead, allow you to cast Gravecrawler from your graveyard, gains a +1/+1 bonus from Cemetery Reaper, and is immune from Call to the Grave.
There's a plethora of Gray Ogres in the game, however none of them will earn as many style points as casting Headless Horseman. Let's not forget that picture and flavor text! Aren't they awesome?
How will you use Headless Horseman?
Keep up with the latest "Magic: The Gathering" info:
Bookmark my article index, subscribe for email alerts of new articles, follow me on Twitter @David_Leavitt, like my fan page on Facebook, and add me to your circle on Google+.
For more information about the game, visit www.MagicTheGathering.com.