Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Movies

'Harry Potter' cast wins SAG Award 2012, but not for what you think

See also

The cast of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, based on the novel by J. K. Rowling, won a SAG Award Sunday night, but it's not quite what you think. What do we mean?

The Screen Actors Guild celebrated achievement in acting in film and television with its 18th annual SAG Awards Sunday evening. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 won a cast award for film; however, it may not be the cast you immediately think of -- Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint. Instead, the SAG Award was given to the film's stunt cast -- the award was for Outstanding Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2has been nominated for several Academy Awards, but also in that case the main cast has been left out, as has acting entirely. All of the awards nominations are for non-acting categories such as Visual Effects.

See the complete list of all SAG Award winners and nominees here.


Visit Connie Ann Kirk online at: National Examiner; Webpage; Facebook; Twitter; and Blog.



Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos