Skip to main content
  1. Tech
  2. Games
  3. Consoles

‘GTA 5’ developer to receive prominent award from ‘Metal Gear Solid V’ director

See also

The developer of “Grand Theft Auto 5” will be receiving prestigious award at British Academy of Film and Television Arts. According to a report from NZ Gamer on March 10, the studio will be honored with the Fellowship, which gives special recognition to people or groups that have excelled in movies, televisions and video games.

More Photos

Rockstar Games will be joining an elite group in the gaming industry. Only a handful of people from the gaming industry have received the Fellowship: Gabe Newell, Peter Molyneux, Shigeru Miyamoto and Will Wright. Along with the development of “GTA 5,” the company also created “Bully,” “Red Dead Redemption” and many other titles.

Furthermore, Hideo Kojima will be on hand to present the Fellowship award to Rockstar Games. The game director is going to release “Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes” on March 18 for the PS3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One. He should then focus on the development of “Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain.”

The aforesaid “GTA 5” has already become one of the best-selling video games in history despite being released recently on Sept. 17 of last year. The open-world action adventure title reportedly sold more than 32.5 million copies so far on the PS3 and Xbox 360. It is also strongly rumored to be ported to the PC, PS4 and Xbox One at some point.

A gallery showcasing “GTA 5” on the two current-generation platforms can be viewed to the left of this article.