Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. TV

‘Grey's Anatomy’ casting news: 4 more sign on for 2 more years

See also

“Grey’s Anatomy” has 2 episodes left for season 10 and then it’s over. The show has not as yet been renewed for season 11 but Cosmopolitan reported on May 5 that 4 more of its stars have signed 2-year contracts. That is definitely good news.

The fact that Justin Chambers, Sara Ramirez, Chandra Wilson, and James Pickens Jr. have each inked deals for two more seasons of the medical drama has got to be good news for fans. Both Patrick Dempsey and Ellen Pompeo signed 2-year contracts in January as well. That accounts for most of the main cast.

ABC has not yet confirmed that the show will be back for an eleventh season, let alone a twelfth. Many expect the announcement on cancellations and renewals to come later this month. Should the network pick up the series, Dr. Alex Karev, Dr. Callie Torres, Cr. Miranda Bailey and Dr. Richard Webber will be joining their friends Dr. Derek Shepherd and Dr. Meredith Grey back at Grey Sloane Memorial for more drama and fun.

Sandra Oh, who plays Cristina Yang, announced her departure from the show last fall. She will be leaving at the end of season 10. The show is currently in her story arc now for that departure which is expected to take place in the season finale on May 15.

Also leaving the show at the end of season 10 are Tessa Ferrer and Gaius Charles who play residents Dr. Leah Murphy and Dr. Shane Ross respectively. In the residents’ story line in the last episode, word leaked out that the Chief, Dr. Owen Hunt, is planning to fire one of the residents. This would explain the departure of one of the characters but not the other. No spoilers have been leaked explaining that second resident’s departure nor do we know which one is being fired.

Other actors whose contract status has not yet been divulged include Camilla Luddington (Dr. Jo Wilson), Kevin McKidd (Dr. Owen Hunt), Jessica Capshaw (Dr. Arizona Robbins), Sarah Drew (Dr. April Kepner), Jesse Williams (Dr. Jackson Avery) and Jerrika Hinton (Dr. Stephanie Edwards).

Grey’s Anatomy” airs on Thursdays on ABC. The next episode is airing May 8 and is titled “Everything I Try to Do.”


Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    Weird Al is making sure you don't forget about his new album by releasing a video every day
    Music Buzz
  • Mike Priefer
    The Vikings suspend Mike Priefer for three games after allegations of anti-gay remarks
    Today's Buzz
  • Beer
    Outdoor festival to celebrate beer and superheroes during San Diego Comic-Con
    Comic-Con News
  • Mayhem Tour
    The Rockstar Energy Mayhem Tour rolls through Detroit with insane performances
    19 Photos
  • Supernatural
    As fans wait for new episodes, we are sharing 'Supernatural' season 10 spoilers
    10 Photos
  • Chris Jericho
    WWE Battleground brought fans some big shockers at the pay-per-view-event
    Fight Sports