Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Gregg Popovich named NBA Coach of the Year for third time

See also

Gregg Popovich was named the NBA Coach of the Year on Tuesday. According to, the Spurs’ Popovich is the third coach to win the award three times in NBA history.

The San Antonio Spurs earned the first seed in the Western Conference with a (62-20) record. Even with Gregg Popovich’s style of sitting out players so they are well rested for the postseason, the Spurs earned home court advantage throughout the whole playoffs.

Memphis knocks off Oklahoma City in overtime.

Gregg Popovich also won the award in 2002-03 and 2011-12 seasons. Coming into the season, there was a thought that San Antonio would have a hangover after losing the NBA finals in such dramatic fashion. Instead, the Spurs coasted into first place without missing a beat.

Gregg Popovich received 59 first place votes to outshine Phoenix Suns’ coach Jeff Hornacek. The Suns had a remarkable season and Hornacek had the young team on the brink of the playoffs in the final week.

Tom Thibodeau survived another Derrick Rose injury to lead the Bulls to the fourth seed in the East. He finished third in the coach of the year voting. Charlotte’s Steve Clifford and Toronto’s Dwane Casey finished up the top five.

Jason Kidd finished 8th as the Nets head coach.


For more sports news, check out Top 10+1 Sports Blog. If you liked this article, click the Subscribe button to receive email updates when a new article is published. Follow William on Facebook and Twitter. Find more by William on hismusic and sports page. Submit your mailbag questions via Tumblr.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink

Related Videos:

  • Video: 2013 Upper Deck All-Time Greats Basketball box break
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Williams to curate "NBA 2K15" soundtrack
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518259069" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • LeBron James
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>