Skip to main content
Music

See also:

Great collection of Beatles, British Invasion music films airs tonight on TCM

Movies with the Beatles, the Dave Clark Five and Herman's Hermits are among a huge assortment of 1960s music films airing tonight (June 2) on Turner Classic Movies, the channel announced June 2 on Facebook. The evening starts off with a rare TV showing of the Beatles “A Hard Day's Night” at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

These music films are airing Monday and Tuesday on Turner Classic Movies.
These music films are airing Monday and Tuesday on Turner Classic Movies.
United Artists
The original poster for the Beatles' film "A Hard Day's Night."
The original poster for the Beatles' film "A Hard Day's Night."
United Artists

It's followed by at 9:45 p.m. ET/6:45 p.m. PT by “Go Go Mania” (also called "Pop Gear"), a collection of music shorts with the Beatles, the Animals, Peter & Gordon, the Nashville Teens, the Honeycombs, the Rockin' Berries, Sounds Incorporated, the Fourmost and the Four Pennies. Introducing the acts is Jimmy Savile, the late British disc jockey who has been implicated in a child sex abuse scandal since his death in 2011.

Next up at 11:15 p.m. ET/8:15 p.m. is the Dave Clark Five in “Having a Wild Weekend.” The film was the directing debut of John Boorman, who later became known for “Point Blank,” “Deliverance,” “Zardoz” and “Excalibur.” It also features the song "Catch Us If You Can," which was the alternate title for the film.

Two films by Herman's Hermits are up next. At 1 a.m. ET/10 p.m. PT is “Hold On!,” their 1966 film debut. Also in the film were Shelley Fabares, who played Mary Stone on "The Donna Reed Show" and had her own singing career and a Billboard number one hit with "Johnny Angel" in 1962; Herbert Anderson, best known as Henry Mitchell, the father on the "Dennis the Menace" TV series starring Jay North; and Sue Ann Langdon.

At 2:45 a.m. ET/11:45 p.m. PT is the band's second film, “Mrs. Brown, You've Got a Lovely Daughter” from 1968. It was produced by Allen Klein, who was known for his financial dealings with the Beatles.

The last film to be featured in the back-to-back marathon is “Get Yourself a College Girl,” another 1964 collection of music shorts. This one features the Animals, the Dave Clark Five, the Standells, Nancy Sinatra and Stan Getz and Astrid Gilberto.

Another film airing on TCM this week though not in the marathon is “Don't Make Waves” from 1967, which features the title song sung by the Byrds. The film, which stars stars Tony Curtis and Claudia Cardinale, airs at 6:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. PT June 3. All the films airing on TCM are available on DVD.