Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Celebrity

'Gravity' BAFTA nominations: 'Gravity' leads with 11 BAFTA nominations

See also

The 2013 British-American science-fiction and space drama film "Gravity" won 11 BAFTA nominations on Wednesday, topping rival movies "12 Years a Slave" and "American Hustle", according to CNN Entertainment on Jan. 8.

On Wednesday morning, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts, or BAFTA, nominations were announced by British actress Helen McCrory from "Harry Potter" and Welsh actor Luke Evans from "The Hobbit".

Alfonso Cuaron's space thriller "Gravity" received the most nominations, over Steve McQueen’s "12 Years A Slave" and David O. Russell's "American Hustle".

"Gravity" stars Sandra Bullock and George Clooney as astronauts drifting in space and attempting to return to Earth during the the mid-orbit destruction of their space shuttle.

"Gravity" director, co-writer and co-producer Alfonso Cuaron was nominated along with his son Jonas Cuaron for the best director honor in the screenplay category.

Sandra Bullock received a nomination in the leading actress category for Best Actress in a Leading Role for her role as astronaut Ryan Stone.

The film also received nominations for Best Film, Outstanding British Film, Director for Alfonso Cuarón, Original Screenplay, Original Music, Cinematography, Editing, Production Design, Sound and Special Visual Effects.

"Gravity" will compete for the Best Film award against "12 Years a Slave", "American Hustle", "Captain Phillips" and "Philomena" on Feb. 16 at the 67th annual BAFTA red carpet ceremony in London.


Arts & Entertainment

  • Iggy Azalea
    Iggy Azalea shakes things up at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
  • Bachelorette
    Andi Dorfman chose a man on 'The Bachelorette', but did he pop the question?
    TV Buzz
  • Jennifer Lopez
    Watch J.Lo transform from Fly Girl to one of the world's hottest women
    18 Photos
  • Child stars
    You won't believe what some of these former child stars look like all grown up
    26 Photos
  • Celebrity tattoos
    We're not sure what some of these stars were thinking when they got inked
    23 Photos
  • Freddie Prinze Jr
    Freddie Prinze Jr. made jaws drop with some shocking admissions about Keifer Sutherland
    Pop Culture

Related Videos:

  • San Diego Comic-Con 2014
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518300535" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Kate Gosselin use of 'r-word' causes stir
    <div class="video-info" data-id="517833171" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Original Batman cast at Comic Con
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518238431" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>