Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Style & Fashion
  3. Fashion Trends

Gotham Award Winners 2013 & Red Carpet Fashion

See also

The Independent Film Project held their 23rd Annual Gotham Awards ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street. The event sponsored by Fiji Water, Calvin Klein Euphoria & Russian Standard Vodka kicks off the awards season and honors the best in the independent film industry.

More Photos

Special Tributes and awards were given to Forest Whitaker, Richard Linklater and the late Sopranos actor James Gandolfini. There was an upset during the ceremony when Oscar front runner "12 Years A Slave" lost in the "Best Feature" category to "Inside Llewyn Davis".

Who Was There : Rashida Jones, Lupita Nyong'o, Michael B. Jordan, Forest Whitaker,Amy Poehler, Melanie Diaz, Jared Leto, Zosia Mamet, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, Steve Buscemi, Bobby Cannavale .

Red Carpet Rundown:

Shailene Woodley wore Calvin Klein.

12 Years A Slave actress Lupita Nyong'o wore a white Lanvin gown.

Fruitvale Station star Melanie Diaz took a fashion risk in a sheer two piece by designer Maki Oh.

The 26-year-old Nigerian designer hand-dyes all her fabrics using a time-consuming technique called adire, which uses indigo leaves instead of industrial dye. "I’ve always been interested in couture, so things like that excite me," she explained from her studio in Lagos. Though she only launched her label in 2010 (after graduating from the Arts Institute in Bournemouth, England), she's already found celebrity fans like Solange Knowles and Leelee Sobieski. Maki Oh was also named Designer of the Year by Arise Magazine.

After the Gothams guests flocked to nearby Andaz Wall Street to celebrate with specialty Russian Standard Vodka Cocktails. "Standard Toast of the Town,‘ ‘Gotham Russian Standard Moscow Mule,‘ and ‘Standard Dirty Martini.' We must confess that the Gotham Mule is a delicious drink that everyone should try to make at their holiday celebrations.

Below are the recipes for the Russian Standard cocktails served last night at the Gotham Awards afterparty.

Russian Standard Toast of the Town (served in champagne flute)

1 oz Russian Standard Vodka
½ oz French Aperitif

1 oz Ruby Red Grapefruit Juice
¾ oz Elderflower Liqueur

1 oz Prosecco

Gotham Russian Standard Mule (served in Collins, highball or rocks glass)
1½ ounces of Russian Standard Vodka

Ginger Beer
¼ ounce Fresh Lime Juice

1 lime wheel, for garnish

Russian Standard Dirty Martini (served in martini glass)
2 oz. Russian Standard Vodka

½ oz. Dry Vermouth

½ oz. Olive Brine

Here is a list of the Gotham Awards Winners:

Best Feature
12 Years a Slave
 : Steve McQueen, director; Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Bill Pohlad, Steve McQueen, Arnon Milchan, Anthony Katagas, producers. (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Inside Llewyn Davis : 
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, directors; Scott Rudin, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen, producers (CBS Films) - Winner
Ain't Them Bodies Saints : 
David Lowery, director; Tony Halbrooks, James M. Johnston, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Amy Kaufman, Cassian Elwes, producers (IFC Films)
Before Midnight : 
Richard Linklater, director; Richard Linklater, Christos V. Konstantakopoulos, Sara Woodhatch, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)
Upstream Color
: Shane Carruth, director; Shane Carruth, Casey Gooden, Ben LeClair, producers. (erbp)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
*Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station (The Weinstein Company) - Winner
Adam Leon for Gimme the Loot (Sundance Selects)
Alexandre Moors for Blue Caprice (Sundance Selects)
Stacie Passon for Concussion (RADiUS-TWC)
Amy Seimetz for Sun Don't Shine (Factory 25)

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor in 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

*Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club (Focus Features) - Winner
Oscar Isaac in Inside Llewyn Davis (CBS Films)
Robert Redford in All Is Lost (Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions)
Isaiah Washington in Blue Caprice (Sundance Selects)

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine (Sony Pictures Classics)
Scarlett Johansson in Don Jon (Relativity Media)
*Brie Larson in Short Term 12 (Cinedigm) - Winner
Amy Seimetz in Upstream Color (erbp)
Shailene Woodley in The Spectacular Now (A24)

Breakthrough Actor

*Michael B. Jordan in Fruitvale Station (The Weinstein Company) -Winner
Dane DeHaan in Kill Your Darlings (Sony Pictures Classics)
Kathryn Hahn in Afternoon Delight (The Film Arcade and Cinedigm)
Lupita Nyong'o in 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Robin Weigert in Concussion (RADiUS-TWC)

Best Documentary
*The Act of Killing
 Joshua Oppenheimer, director; Signe Byrge, Joshua Oppenheimer, producers (Drafthouse Films) -Winner

The Crash Reel: 
Lucy Walker, director; Julian Cautherly, Lucy Walker, producers (HBO Documentary Films)
First Cousin Once Removed: 
Alan Berliner, director and producer (HBO Documentary Films)
Let the Fire Burn: 
Jason Osder, director and producer (Zeitgeist Films)
Our Nixon
: Penny Lane, director; Brian L. Frye, Penny Lane, producers (Cinedigm and CNN Films)



  • Dead babies found
    Seven dead babies were found in Utah resident Megan Huntsman's old home
    Shocking Discovery
  • Kendall Jenner
    Get the Coachella looks: Kendall Jenner’s nose ring, green hair and edgy nails
    Coachella Look
  • Dog's Easter basket
    How to fill your dog’s Easter basket with the perfect toys
    Easter Basket
  • Rabbit owners
    Bringing home the bunny: Important information for rabbit owners
    7 Photos
  • Haunted island
    The world’s most haunted island may soon be the most haunted luxury resort
    Haunted Resort
  • Sunken ferry
    Search continues for missing passengers after a ferry sinks off the South Korean coast
    Sunken Ferry

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!