Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Golfers who have won the PGA Championship the most times

Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods
Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods
Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images

The following is a list of the golfers who have won the PGA Championship the most times. The PGA Championship is one of the four majors played annually in golf.

As a longtime golf fan, I would say that the PGA Championship is the least prestigious of the four majors played annually in golf. But the tournament is still a major and every golfer would love to win the PGA Championship as many times as possible.

The PGA Championship is played annually in August, and is the last of the four majors to be played each year. I've listed all the golfers who have won the PGA Championship at least two times.

Of note, the PGA Championship was played as a match play event from its inception in 1916 until 1957. From 1958 on, the PGA Championship has been a played as a stroke play tournament. All players are from the United States unless otherwise noted.

Golfers who have won the PGA Championship the most times

T-1. Jack Nicklaus - 5 wins

Jack Nicklaus holds the record for most wins in the PGA Championship with five. Nicklaus won the PGA Championship in 1963, 1971, 1973, 1975, and 1980. For his career, Jack Nicklaus won a record 18 majors.

T-1. Walter Hagen - 5

Walter Hagen is tied with Jack Nicklaus with five PGA Championships. All five of Walter Hagen's wins (1921, 1924-1927) came when the PGA Championship was a match play event. Walter Hagen won 11 majors in his career, and would have won more but he well over 40 years old when The Masters was first played in 1934.

3. Tiger Woods - 4

Tiger Woods is currently in third place with four PGA Championships. Tiger Woods won his four PGA Championships in back-to-back fashion twice in 1999 and 2000, and then again in 2006 and 2007. To date, Tiger Woods has won 14 majors in his career.

T-4. Gene Sarazen - 3

Gene Sarazen is tied for the fourth most wins in the PGA Championship with three. Sarazen won the tournament in 1922, 1923, and 1933. For his career, Gene Sarazen won seven majors.

T-4. Sam Snead - 3

Sam Snead is tied with Gene Sarzen for fourth place with three PGA Championships. Slammin Sammy won the tournament in 1942, 1949, and 1951. For his career, Sam Snead won seven majors, but he never won the U.S. Open.

T-6. Jim Barnes - 1916 and 1919 (1916 was inaugural event and 1917 and 1918 were skipped due to WW I)

Jim Barnes was born in England. He moved to the United States in 1906, but never legally became an American citizen. Barnes was 6' 4" tall and was often called "Long Jim".

T-6. Leo Diegel - 1928 and 1929

T-6. Denny Shute - 1936 and 1937

T-6. Paul Runyan - 1934 and 1938

T-6. Byron Nelson - 1940 and 1945 (PGA Championship not played in 1943 due to WW II)

T-6. Ben Hogan - 1946 and 1948

T-6. Gary Player - 1962 and 1972 (From South Africa)

T-6. Dave Stockton - 1970 and 1976

T-6. Ray Floyd - 1969 and 1982

T-6. Lee Trevino - 1974 and 1984

T-6. Larry Nelson - 1982 and 1987

T-6. Nick Price - 1992 and 1994 (From Zimbabwe)

T-6. Vijay Singh - 1998 and 2004 (From Fiji)

Report this ad