Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Golf prize money up for grabs for women LPGA players at 2014 Marathon Classic

See also

The following is a list of the prize money up for grabs from women professional players on the LPGA Tour at the 2014 Marathon Classic. The 2014 Marathon Classic is being played from Thursday, July 17 to Sunday, July 20, 2014, at the Highland Meadows Golf Club in Sylvania, Ohio, a suburb of Toledo.

The Marathon Classic has been played annually since 1984 (except for 1986 and 2011), and has been called the Jamie Farr Classic in the past. The sponsor of this year's Marathon Classic on the LPGA Tour is Owens Corning and O-I.

Se Ri Pak from South Korea holds the record for most wins in the Marathon Classic with five (1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2007). Penny Hammel (1985, 1989), and Kelly Robbins (1994, 1997) are tied for second with two wins each.

Competing at the 2014 Marathon Classic are LPGA stars like Cristie Kerr, Suzann Pettersen, Paula Creamer, Lexi Thompson, Michelle Wie, Belen Mozo, and Stacy Lewis. Click any of those women golfers to see hot photos of that golfer.

Also competing is Mo Martin, who just won the 2014 Women's British Open at Royal Birkdale. Another hot golfer competing this week is Brooke Pancake. For more on her see Brooke Pancake has memorable name and she is a hot LPGA golfer in 2014.

Last year's winner of the Marathon Classic, Beatriz Recari, is also back. For more see 20 Hot photos of LPGA golf star Beatriz Recari in 2014.

Golf prize money up for grabs for women LPGA players at 2014 Marathon Classic

The total prize money fund for the 2014 Marathon Classic has been raised from $1.3 million to $1.4 million this year. That's an increase of 7.7%. The prize money for the winner is fixed, while the rest of the prize money can fluctuate a bit based upon how many women make the cut.

  • Winner - $210,000

The winner of the 2014 Marathon Classic will earn a very nice paycheck of $210,000. That is up 7.7% from the $195,000 that Breatriz Recari earned when she won the tournament in 2013.

  • Second Place - $130,000

Second place at the 2014 Marathon Classic is worth $130,000. That's up 7.7% from the $120,655 that Paula Creamer earned with her second place finish last year.

  • Third Place - $104,500

Third place is worth roughly $104,500. Lexi Thompson and Jodi Ewart Shadoff split $155,236, with each player earning $77,618, when they tied for third place last year.

  • Fourth Place - $73,000

Fourth Place is worth roughly $73,000 at the 2014 Marathon Classic.

  • Fifth Place- $59,000

Fifth place is worth roughly $59,000 in 2014. Angela Stanford and Jacqui Concolino split $99,088, with each player earning $49,544, when they tied for fifth place at the Marathon Classic in 2013.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court