Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

Golf prize money up for grabs at 2014 The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass

See also

The following is a list of the prize money up for grabs for professional golfers on the PGA Tour at the 2014 The Players Championship, which will be played from May 8th to May 11, 2014, at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Verda Beach, Florida, just outside Jacksonville.

The Players Championship is a big tournament for professional golfers because it offers the richest prize money on the 2014 PGA Tour (tied with PGA Championship) at $10 million. The PGA has often tried to push the idea that The Players Championship is a fifth major, but golf fans have never bought that idea.

The 2014 The Players Championship has drawn a stellar field that includes Phil Mickelson and Rory McIlroy. Unfortunately, Tiger Woods, who won The Players Championship in 2013, will not be here to defend his title.

Tiger Woods recently has said he is unsure when he will be able to play golf again as he recovers from back surgery to fix a pinched nerve. Tiger Woods has a little over a month to try and recover enough to play in the 2014 U.S. Open at Pinehurst.

The Players Championship has been played annually since its inception in 1974. Jack Nicklaus, who won the inaugural The Players Championship in 1974, holds the record for most wins in this tournament with three (Nicklaus also won in 1976 and 1978).

Players with two wins in The Players Championship include Tiger Woods (2001, 2013), Davis Love III (1992, 2003), Hal Sutton (1983, 2000), Steve Elkington (1991, 1997), and Fred Couples (1984, 1996). Phil Mickelson won The Players Championship in 2007, while Rory McIlroy is looking for his first win here in 2014.

Golf prize money up for grabs at 2014 The Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass

The winner of the 2014 The Players Championship will earn a very cool $1.8 million. That is up 5.3% from the $1.710 that Tiger Woods earned when he won the tournament last year.

  • Second Place - $1.08 million

Second place is worth $1.08 million at the 2014 The Players Championship. That is up 5.3% from the $1.026 that players like Paul Goydos have earned by finishing second in this tournament in the past.

In 2013, Kevin Streelman, David Lingmerth, and Jeff Maggert split $2.128 million, with each player earning $709,333.33, when they tied for second place at The Players Championship. The over $1 million payout for a lone second place finish here is why the players love this tournament so much.

  • Third Place - $680,000

Third place is worth $680,000. That is up 5.3% from $646,000.

  • Fourth Place - $480,000

The fourth place finisher will earn roughly $480,000 at the 2014 The Players Championship. Up 5.3% from $456,000.

  • Fifth Place - $400,000

The fifth place finisher will earn about $400,000, which is up 5.3% from $380,000.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Brees gets tested
    Saints Drew Brees says he has 10 years left in NFL, immediately gets drug tested
    NFL News
  • Bryan subdues burglar
    Former WWE champ Daniel Bryan holds down burglar with submission move
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court